Bing Search

Waist Deep

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 27
Date
Helpful
Rating
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Understanding
Posted: 1/17/2007A review of Waist Deep by BrianDiener
I believe this movie will teach people. African Americans aint all about gang banging or whatever they say about them. This man went from jail, and trying to make a living for his son, he said he wouldnt leave him for anything and then he got jacked, and went through everything to get him back, I found this movie ing great, loved it, Tyrese was a good actor, and played his roles great. I understood it on so many other levels.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The REAL World
Posted: 10/28/2006A review of Waist Deep by scook_8
Did anyone see the movie about the young black couple from south central LA that sold apple fritters and lemonade to become successful business owners? Didnt catch that one huh? How bout the one where the black guy fom south central opened up a successful rodeo ranch? Didnt see that one either i guess. Well the point is whether its a positve or negative image, its what really goes on. The movie was very believable and i enjoyed it all the way through. I wasnt expecting tyrees to say Hey you guys, im calling my lawyer!!! This was a gangster film and you cant get more gangster than the Game. If you want Postive Stereotypes as opposed to Negative Stereotypes whatever that means, then find a black doctor or a black engineer. This was a movie guys!! Entertainment only.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Great
Posted: 7/21/2006A review of Waist Deep by B-marie
I thought the movies was great...although there was much violence. The puropose of the movie was to see how a father would risk his life for his son no matter what it takes. It had great meaning and it shows you what women go through when she has no where to go bc she has no family or friends that care. I believe that this was great for young men and i feel that all fathers should risk there lives for their children no matter what risks they may have to take bc in the end its all for the greater good. The main actors did an awesome job.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 4 users found this helpful  Couldnt keep my eyes off the screen )
Posted: 7/8/2006A review of Waist Deep by Tanisha841
I loved the movie. I think Meagan Good and Tyreses work well together. I love the fact that I can see O Dawg in Larenz Tate form Meance 2 Society. LOVED IT,LOVED IT. The Game way to go!! He did a good job. Cant wait to see it again.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 2 users found this helpful  THIS MOVIE S
Posted: 7/7/2006A review of Waist Deep by LOCOCOCO0
IT S SO BAD IT CAN BE THROWN INTO THE CAN
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 3 users found this helpful  For SMART CAUCASIAN MALE
Posted: 7/7/2006A review of Waist Deep by TheConvix
heres a photo of Christy Lemire..shes on the left. blogs.indiewire.commattdentlerarchivesI MG_0020.jpg Why dont you research something before you act like an ass on the internet next time, k? ) (Of course, since you are so SMART, youll realize to replace the asterisks with forward slashes.)
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 7 users found this helpful  Must see!
Posted: 7/5/2006A review of Waist Deep by pinkprincess817
I thought that this movie was very good. Definitely worth seeing. Everyone has their own opinion, you need to see this one.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 9 users found this helpful  Impressionable
Posted: 6/26/2006A review of Waist Deep by Duchess8
This movie is very entertaining. However, I feel that it does not appeal to a universal audience. Universal appeal is what makes history, changes careers, and brings in huge salaries for thespians. Because of their skill set, both actors have the potential to fulfill universality. Congrats to Tyrese for performing his own stunts, and Megan seemed to show a little more range in her acting in this movie than in others. Both seem to be progressing as actors with time. The actors did not do a horrible job but the direction and scripting of the movie is what made it at times predictable. Megan and Tyrese, like so many other black actors, have potential to be future super A-list actors but are type-cast simply because of their race. They are automatically cast in movies full of stereotypes just because they are young and black. I think they did a great job in this movie, but I challenge them both, as well their casting agents to pursue a breakout role in a movie that is not considered typical. Stars on the rise! A message separate and apart from this movie. Hollywood Stop the Ebonic Plague, repetitious use of the n word, and let black actors and actresses reach their potential by portraying roles of depth sans gangster and hoochie images. African-American youth need heroes and heroines to look up to. We have what it takes to deliver, but must challenge the quo to really make an impression on the world. My review Go and see for yourself!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  Okay, but it left me wondering...
Posted: 6/26/2006A review of Waist Deep by lovpopcorn1
First of all this was the typical dude movie, somebody gets kidnapped and the unbelievable action begins. I feel that Megan gave a very good performance and she has come a long way since Cousin Skeeter, and I do look forward to seeing her in the future. I also felt like Tyreses acting has improved and it is always good to see Larenz Tate. But I left the theater wondering do they really have drug warehouses like that? I mean I live in the hood (Chicago) and I never heard of any places like that. It sort of reminded me of New Jack City, which I felt was pure trash! I tried to focus on the relationships, the old ones and the new one. Is it really that bad in LA? Will people stand around and watch other people be hacked up? The background shots I found to be quit depressing. Pay attention to the relationships that is what really keeps the movie going.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
5 out of 16 users found this helpful  balls deep
Posted: 6/25/2006A review of Waist Deep by unreal839
WOW I AM STUPIDER 4 HAVING SEEN THIS TYPICAL EXAGERATED BLACK GANGSTA ACTION FLOP CAN I GET AN AMEN!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 8 users found this helpful  Hip Hopped LA Noir
Posted: 6/25/2006A review of Waist Deep by 2423 c street on line
LA Noir, is a subgenre of dark crime action drama set in of course the City of Angeles. Boyz in the Hood, Set It Off, and A Man Apart are all black-oriented films that riffed the LA Noir vibe. Waist Deep on one level adds hip hop gangsta rap to the mix and surprise, presents Super Fly on roids. Director Vondie Curtis Hall and the production team probably didnt plan on making a worthy homage to the blaxploitaion films of the 1970s but Waist Deep features all of the key ingredients a bumpin sound track, a wronged hero on a mission with the System and the Man lined up against him and not much in the way of allies. Weve seen Tyrese Gibsons O2 in every Western ever made, Megan Goods Coco is just another stand-up dame and Larenz Tate really needs to get another agent. He must be filmdoms oldest unsuccessful gang banger. Its important to consider Waist Deep solely on its own terms. Its ultra violent, illogically sentimental and scathing in its criticism of so much of what passes for The Life. This is a popcorn movie that should give its stars and its production team some credibility when a classier, better written more mainstream studio film material comes their way. For a bargain matinee or the drive-in, Waist Deep is a good enough choice, but just that.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 7 users found this helpful  tyrie
Posted: 6/24/2006A review of Waist Deep by Originial ganster grandma
I just saw this movie and even though it looks like its not a blockbuster. I thought this movie was very very good. I was surprised at Megan Goode performance she was very beliveable as the beautiful young girl who came up the hard way in the system. I work in the social sevices field and beleive me there are young girls gone bad like that. Tyrese was also very good and believable in his role as a man struggling to over come his past. I keep saying believable because even though I know you dont get away from the police it still makes for a feel good movie especially if you are one of us who roots for the underdog. It happened in Shawshank Redemption it also happeneded in the Getaway with Steve Mcqueen and Ali Mcgraw so why cant it happen to Watts most finest.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
7 out of 10 users found this helpful  zero stars
Posted: 6/24/2006A review of Waist Deep by Knowledge 012
Holly Crap! There should be an age minimum on here for people to review movies. Whos responsible for this garbage film? First of all, you can tell by the trailer that this was gonna be trash. But I guess as long as you put people in movies who are good looking and sprinkle in some fights, some crime, some shooting, car chases and a fake ass tough guy rapper, we will always have a handful of idiots who will think they have the makings of a great film. And youll have a 15 year old who thinks its great. Just because The Game can rap doesnt mean you should go see a movie because hes in it. I love Denzel as an actor but if he ever made an album, trust that I would never buy it. If Denzel could sing, he would have started doing it a long time ago. If The Game could act, he would have started doing it a long time ago. Smarten up my fellow negros.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 12 users found this helpful  great movie
Posted: 6/24/2006A review of Waist Deep by lovelycan
This movie was good and that is what it is--a movie. For all you wanna be highly educated folks, fake bougies, think you better than everyone--then dont see movies that appeal to the masses--the real people of this world who like movies. Remember this is just a movie. KIMORA LEE SIMMONs--girl you looked good and you acted like a real booster. Thank you Mrs. Simmons, you show that you can be smart and act like real black folk do.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 11 users found this helpful  What did you Expect??
Posted: 6/24/2006A review of Waist Deep by POLYT1
For those of you who gave the movie a bad review and said rappers cant act....what did you expect of the movie??? Its a typical hip hop film with some action scenes and sexual imagery thrown in. Its entertaining and was not meant to be thought provoking or inspiring. Sure parts of the movie were confusing...such as a gang war and we really only see one kingpin...but all in all I got what I expected. I thought that Larenz Tate was hilarious and sure its not oscar worthy but Id buy the dvd for a rainy day when I need a laugh.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 27
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video