Bing Search

The King's Speech

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 17
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  good movie.
Posted: 5/12/2011A review of The King's Speech by A Working Man
The King's Speech was a good movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The Kings Speech
Posted: 2/28/2011A review of The King's Speech by Bugster
My friend asked me to go see this movie and I went just to be "getting out". On the way to the movie theater, she told me the historical background. Then I became interested. I was soon not only interested but totally caught up in the King's Speech. I have always been a fan of Colin Firth and applaud his performance. I feel it is much more difficult for an actor to portray a real person, let alone one with a disability such as a stammer. Geoffrey Rush was also outstanding and am sorry he did not win. I highly recommend this film, not only as a historical movie but also an entertaining one.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Deserved winner
Posted: 2/26/2011A review of The King's Speech by an unrecognized user
I have viewed every movie up for the Oscars and this is my true pick. Colon Firth and Company, acting as a true ensemble, open to the viewer immense insight; not only to King George's personal challenge; but to the responsibilities of the Royal Family in general. I was highly critical as a viewer, having worked as a professional in the field of Speech, and I found the character of Logue to be true to life and honest. He had the most important quality to make any "learning" occur- trust. I couldn't take my eyes off of Colin Firth's face; the story, the struggle was written there and so was his relationship with the Queen Mother. This is certainly a film of worth, and will be considered a classic.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The Kings Speech
Posted: 2/14/2011A review of The King's Speech by MyNameGoesHere1
This was a thoroughly engaging, lovely film. I feel sorry for professional critics who seem more interested in writing zingers than in giving a true assessment of a film. The snarky comments are rather unnecessary. I'm usually a little put off by Geoffrey Rush, but he was restrained enough to not be distracting and there was a real collaboration with Colin Firth. You believe these characters were real (and it is a historical drama).
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  I Left Speechless!!
Posted: 2/13/2011A review of The King's Speech by GGBOXERS
Yes, "The King's Speech" is THAT awesome! Colin Firth and Company transformed what most of us "Yanks" would call boring history into a trip back to a time most of us were not around to witness. History lesson to be sure, but this film is so much more. The relationship between King and Commoner is both honorable and heartwarming. I must confess that I went into the theater expecting "Mr. Darcy" but from the moment Mr. Firth made his appearance, Darcy was forgotten. His outstanding performance should not be missed. Colin Firth is absolutely brilliant as he takes us all on this inspiring journey from Duke to King. I cannot wait for it to be released on DVD because "The King's Speech" is going to be part of my library of great films.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  awful
Posted: 2/12/2011A review of The King's Speech by an unrecognized user
Unless you are a King pass it by.A real snorer.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Outstanding
Posted: 1/30/2011A review of The King's Speech by mutt748
What a wonderful movie. Actually based on historical fact and done in such a fashion as to make it great entertainment.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  EXCELLENT HISTORY
Posted: 1/27/2011A review of The King's Speech by Antiquehink
True Story, Great Movie, would see again, but not for younger children ( adult thinking ).
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Very Good but not great
Posted: 1/23/2011A review of The King's Speech by woofdaddy
This is a very good film but certainly not the best of the year. It's a small, sweet film and Oscar loves that but it certainly is not in the league of "The Fighter" or "True Grit". Well worth seeing but it is getting a little too much hype. It's probably going to get Best Picture at Oscar time but it isn't deserved in my opinion.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Letter for Geoffrey
Posted: 1/20/2011A review of The King's Speech by Mrgreenandblue
Mr. Rush you give hope to the common man and for that I thank you. Hope that we may all share at least one sensation and in that sensation we discover equality. Far too many children in our ever growing family are quick to dimiss their brothers and sisters due to ignorance, self preservation and indecency. I've placed upon you the greatest burden of our time, please continue to carry your banner to ease our condition. May your grace be remmbered and as well our capacity to appreciate you.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Best of the Year
Posted: 1/16/2011A review of The King's Speech by NER
This film is so well done I did not want to leave the theatre. I wanted to dscuss it with others...watch it again and then go home and research the time period. It is a marvel. Colin ( I thought he would always be Mr Darcy to me.) is remarkable. He is Bertie...angry, fragile, sweet father, fun husband and then an evolving King. HBC and GR are equally great in their roles. No GG nominations for them??? WHY? I heard HBC was filming Harry Potter at the same time as this film...what a challenge that must have been. History comes alive....A MUST SEE.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Perfection
Posted: 1/13/2011A review of The King's Speech by hearts106
This is a film you dream about after seeing it. I have seen this film three times and found it so profoundly moving and comforting that the music stays in my ears as I go to sleep. I agree with all the reviews here and especially that we need to have TWO best actor awards this year! Both Collin Firth and Geoffrey Rush were magnificent. They each deserve best actor awards for sure...each completely filling their roles and their comedic timing ....well it was just amazing...not just comedy but pathos and everything they did together was absolutely perfect. What amazing performances. Thank you to all who contributed to this film. It is beyond comforting to know that we can still have this kind of quality in the movie theater experience. Don't miss this masterpiece!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Magnificent!
Posted: 1/11/2011A review of The King's Speech by babycakes1047
If this movie wasn't already the tremendous acting vehicle it's been acclaimed as, it would still be worth seeing for its stunningly realistic recreation of 1930's London. The street scenes, the historic sites, the artifacts, the transition to a war footing, all impeccably done. And I can't recall a film I've enjoyed so thoroughly on so many different levels. The acting, the continuity, the plot line and the always present undercurrent of gentle humor - almost perfection!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Review
Posted: 1/2/2011A review of The King's Speech by gzq1231
Based on a true story and definitley best picture of the year. Most likely Oscars for some of the actors. True Grit was excellent but this film, contrary to my estimation before watching it, was even better. It's a sleeper, but the theatre was sold out and I had trouble finding a seat. You will not be disappointed!!!! A great story.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Riviting and Historical
Posted: 12/28/2010A review of The King's Speech by gottagodave
This film was the best I have seen this year, by far. Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush will draw you in to their intense drama within minutes, and hold you there for the entire 2 hours. The story is true, the acting perfect, the entertainment value, priceless. It's unfortunate that there can be only one Best Actor Academy Award. Miss this film, and you are passing up on a memorable event. Ten stars would be more appropriate.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 17
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video