Bing Search

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 22
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The HOBBIT review
Cinematic Excellence - Totally Awesome Production - Very Amazing Film - a superb story displayed wonderfully and with many interesting aspects including : costumes, scenes setting, characters, and Middle Age theme - the music persuades during the film and then vanishes leaving the attention focused into the story - very very very excellent film
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  LOTR
Posted: 1/1/2013A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by likyalot
If you are a LOTR fan, and even if you're not, it is an enjoyable film. Not quite as good as the other 3, as scenes are long...having made one book into 3 movies. But, it is still very good. Elves, dwarves, hobbits, wizards, such fun!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  The Hobbit
Posted: 12/23/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by B629
The movie was identical to The Lord of The Rings "The Fellowship Of The Ring", but with a different storyline. That being said I was quite happy with the movie, and more so due to the fact that the quality overall of the movie was definatley on par with all three of the Lord of The Rings movies. If you can come back and make a movie just as good as any of those three films, in my opinion you did a great job. I loved the film, can't wait for the second, and again it reminded me of watching the Fellowship of the Ring for the first time. Get all this bias being written by people on this page and just watch the film for what it is. Trust me if this was the first film and we had not seen any of the Lord of the Rings films there would be nobody saying anything bad. This was truly a great film.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  13 of The Hobbit
Posted: 12/22/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by JSH usher
We did not realize that this was going to be just the first third of the Hobbit book on film, so beware of that! The films visuals are exceptional, which is to be expected. One of the fighting scenes underground seemed to go on forever, which was perhaps part of the point that the heroes prevail against huge numbers of nasty looking creatures. The severed heads were a bit much for me, although our tween son did not seem to mind that. He was quite upset at the ending, which stops in a place apparently designed to increase profits for the next film. If you are going to see it, it will look best on a very large screen or on the "big screen" at your local movie theater.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Good and long with a slow moving plot
Posted: 12/21/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by parrothead56
This was like sitting thru a long movie just waiting on something to happen and it never does. I was disappointed to say the least.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Concerning Hobbits
Posted: 12/21/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by LTRide
A disapointment. Ive seen them all and read all the books many times The vidio was less than acceptable especially during quick panning where it seemed blury. The storyline was weak and the writing seemed strained. It did not follow the book The acting was not as crisp as the Loard of the rings. I want a dwarf to look like a dwarf not a short person. Some of the action seens were too unbelievable, kind of like a Chinese kung-fu flik. It seem like shortcuts were taken in many places. The new cast of primary characters can't hold a candle to the old. Gandalf said in the movie, at one point, "from the frying pan, into the fire". I commented to my son after the movie...From the frying pan into the fire, into the oven, into the micriowave, into the barbacue...Too much back to back mayhem. What a shame. Been looking forward to this movie for years.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The Hobbit
Posted: 12/21/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by Tomthd
While being a Lord of the rings fan and waiting for this picture to be released I was quite happy to see the outcome of this picture. The begining was a bit slow and some of the characters being a bit cartoonish I still enjoyed the film when it finally got going. The whole movie in itself was fun to watch and it was nice to travel back to middle earth again. It would of been nice to see a little change in Gandalf looks going back to the book with the bigger bushy eyebrows and to somehow see him younger which in this case I guess is close to impossible. Can't wait to see the next installment of this trilogy.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Not worth the ticket price
Posted: 12/20/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by tuckersman
Slow, dreadful story, wrapped in great special effects
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Dreadful
Posted: 12/20/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by BossHA
Does not stick with the book at all. Seems like a weak introduction to the Lord of the rings, which the book is not The graphics are good, but I have seen plenty of that before. No new ideas. Mostly boring, stretched out like not enough butter on a peace of bread. This is the last Hobbit for me.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  bad hobbit
Posted: 12/19/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by djw64
have seen all hobbit films, luv them, dont waste your time on this one, when it started i had to ask if it was in 3-D, no it wasn't just not a clear production, if you've seen the first one, then all this one is is baggins getting the ring, are you kidding, just a waste of money and time, this production hurts the first ones horribly, when the movie ended everyone in theater said, "what thats it,OMG" Booooooooo
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  For A Purist Too Much Hype
Posted: 12/18/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by Sage Matron
A friend introduced me to Middle Earth in 1976 by having me read The Hobbit. I was hooked & never stopped reading Tolkien. I've read The Hobbit and the Trilogy several times and twice out loud to my children. I saw The Fellowship of the Rings 9 times at the theatre and The Two Towers 11 times. I own the DVDs and my books are leather-bound editions. The Hobbit is a simple tale and I was quite disappointed that so much effort was put into special effects. I felt like I was watching a Stars Wars sequel. What happened to telling a good tale? I certainly will not be spending my Christmas break running to the theatre at 9:00 p.m. to relive this unexpected journey.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Ive waited 50 years for this
Posted: 12/18/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by Starleaf60
I have been a Tolkien fan since 1962. I never imagined that I would live to see these books brought to life. Such rich, wondrous life. Who would have thought they would take fusty, cranky, imperious Thorin Oakenshield and turn him into such a babe!! A hero worth swooning over - at least for this first movie. Darker things are down the road for Thorin, but no spoilers from me. I thought the Radagast segment was a bit much, but it gives you a reason to understand why the Necromancer is causing such concern and who he is - all these years I thought the Necromancer was Sauron - I was wrong! And weaving the history of Middle Earth into the story is wonderful. From Bilbo telling Frodo about the fall of Eredor to a mini Council of Elrond discussing the dragon and what to do about the Necromancer. Elrond is not so stern and formidable in this movie - you get to see the Elven Lord at home and what that home means. The CGI goblins are horrible and the CGI adventures in the Goblin Caves are quite a stretch - but the rest of the movie is fantastic and I can't wait to see the next two. That is after I've seen the first one 10 or 20 times.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Boring CGI-Fest
Posted: 12/18/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by Extantia
Very little character development which was subordinated to overly long scenes dedicated to CGI characters and some gross-out imagery which seemed to be designed to appeal to 5th-graders. After the first ten minutes of the film I kept thinking-- is it over yet?
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  The story you thought you knew.
Posted: 12/17/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by EricCRichardson
“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” is part one of the latest middle earth trilogy from Peter Jackson. First and foremost, this movie is not just an adaptation of Tolkien’s “The Hobbit”- the Hobbit storyline is at the surface of two thousand additional pages of Tolkien’s immersive middle earth backstory- that backstory is at the heart of why there are three movies versus just one. Tolkien created an expansive world that needed to make sense to him as he was writing “the Hobbit”, there are many events in the book that he later had a great amount of exposition on in the appendices of “The Return of the King” and other books. While the book published in 1937 was indeed considered a “children’s book”, it simply skimmed on that body of knowledge. The movie, does go deeper into that and one can expect the trilogy will get deeper into the Tolkien authored backstory to strongly set up the tie between the two trilogies. An Unexpected Journey starts out pretty close to the original “Hobbit”, which is good as it’ll take your eyes a bit of time to get used to the visual overload you’ll experience in the higher frame rated, which is mind-blowing in IMAX 3D I might add. The familiarity of the Shire and seeing old Bilbo and Frodo at the start of the movie lets the viewer feel like they are going back to a treasured vacation spot after many years, it was wonderful to see Sir Ian Holm as Bilbo again and the ever youthful Elijah Woods as Frodo having a conversation moments before where their characters enter in “The Fellowship of the Ring”. Martin Freeman does an outstanding job as the affable and very homebody “Young” Bilbo, Freeman’s recent credits range from intellectual drama of “Sherlock” to Arthur Dent in “Hitchhikes guide to the Galaxy”. Watching Freeman’s Bilbo evolve from timid to a staunch and sometimes very brave supporter of his friends is the backbone of the movie. Sir Ian McKellen is, as always, a joy to watch as he brings such power to whatever ...
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  A Great Movie!
Posted: 12/17/2012A review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by last_to_go
I entered the theater yesterday with very low expectations. The local Mpls papers gave the Hobbit low scores. Both focused on the slowness of the movie and the despair each critic had about dividing the Hobbit into 3 films. Well, the movie exceeded my expectations, and then some. I appreciated the the lengh and time given to "telling the story". Was it long? Yes. Was it boring? No. One of the things that made the Lord of the Rings trilogy a great series was the time it took to tell the story. Additionally, I was even more surprised about the exciting scenes, action, messages and beauty this first installment of the Hobbit had. So, 2 out of 4 stars Mpls papers? Definitely 5 out of 5 as this site's rating system uses.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 22
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: