Bing Search

The Happening

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 153
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  It was good, but it didnt @.
Posted: 3/12/2009A review of The Happening by bazooka1994
I think this movie was so, so good. But I keep on hearing all these bad reviews from so many people. The movie doesn't $@&*. It's not scary, but its where you think on and on for the longest time trying to figure out how these people keep on dying. And once you get to the end your like: "Why didn't I think of that before?"
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  I liked it
Posted: 1/2/2009A review of The Happening by Keith_Sears
I thought this movie was pretty good, the idea that plants could adapt and try to save themselves from us is kind of a creepy thought. The only thing I didn't care for was Mark's whining throughout the movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  the happening
Posted: 11/14/2008A review of The Happening by stormgirl25
i was dissapointed. the previews made this movie look awesome. i am a true thriller seeker. maybe a little to sci-fi for the thriller seeker.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The Happening
Posted: 10/22/2008A review of The Happening by sosexyithurt2
A modern day Plan 9 from Outer Space, minus the charm: The Happening continues the downward spiral of travesties that are known as Shyamalan's movie making career. Be sure to wise up and finally miss this most recent disgrace, and sleep soundly knowing you've successfully saved a part of your soul.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  idk man
Posted: 10/22/2008A review of The Happening by xokinzix3
when i first seen the previews of this movie, i thought that it would be a movie i'd possibly want to see in the theaters, then when it came out, me and a friend or two went and seen it in the theaters, and i didn't like it very much at all. it had a few highlights and the rest of it was just crap. i don't know...
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  the happening
Posted: 10/22/2008A review of The Happening by seeko0
i like this movie alot it was pretty good
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  WTF, M. Night?
Posted: 10/11/2008A review of The Happening by tjsmoke63
One can only wonder what M. Night Shyamalan was thinking when he put together the mess that is most definitely not "Happening". While the basic idea is good (a strange event prompting mass suicides), the director thought he'd screw this up with a ridiculous explanation (vengeful vegetation), bad dialogue, and the hype that this was his first R-rated film (what was R-rated in this mess anyway?). The film barely generates any real suspense, the actors look totally confused (probably the sterling lines the script gave them to speak), and contains no surprises whatsoever. Shyamalan needs to go back to the beginning of his career to see how to make a good suspenseful horror yarn. Don't even rent this, unless you're in the mood to stage your own version of "Mystery Science Theater3000". It's a film that begs to be made fun of.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  M. Night Needs a 6th Sense
Posted: 10/8/2008A review of The Happening by MayorLAX
Just watched the video with my wife. I need to learn a valuable lesson. NEVER buy a video without seeing it first if I want it in my collection. I have some awful movies in my video file but this one is the worst of the worst. I even give Battlefield Earth - L Ron Hubbard flick a better review then this. What a pieces of garbage. I meet directors and producers as part of my business, If I ever meet M Night I want to ask him what the ........? This movie had no rhyme or reason. The four to five star reviews had to have come from M Nights flunkies.... Where he is getting these stories are as a mystery as the airborn virus. M Night whatever you were doing b4 this, you should get back to that. Can msn put negative stars up it really doesnt even deserve a ONE star
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Goodnight, M. Night....
Posted: 10/8/2008A review of The Happening by dawnsnerd555
"The Happening" definitely ain't. I had bad vibes about this rental, because "The Village" was supposed to be officially it for me, as far as M. Night is concerned. I THOUGHT that Mark Wahlberg was SUPPOSED to be a good actor...so, I gave it a shot. Ha. If I ever rent another Shaymalam film again, I will pay someone to kick me in the groin. I'd probably feel better from a groin-kicking than an M. Night film anyway. Stay away!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The end for shamalalam or whatever
Posted: 10/8/2008A review of The Happening by Robert_Pennell1
I said to myself before renting this movie that it was an M. Night Shamamalala (or whatever) movie and quickly the horrible films, Signs, The Village, The Lady in the water came back to me quickly...Then I looked at the mis leading cover and decided against my better judgement to rent it. I wasn't fourteen minutes into the movie when I decided that this was the last four dollars I'd ever invest in one of his stupid, boring, poorly written movies. I mean come on...Killer vegitation with gas. Here is an example...The wife tells Walhberg that she had dessert with another man, and he tells her he bought cough medicine to see the cashier...wait...and he didn't even have a cough. Forget the fake looking carnage all around you, forget the two teen agers that were murdered on the front porch of a mans home lets grip about what we did when the world wasn't ending...By the way...why did the man stop shooting, they were still on his porch. Oh yeah, where was the mans acting classes taken...they need to close that school. Shamamalala thats it buddy...hopefully Hollywood will send you back to Bollywood when you come up with your next Terrifying Idea....Good Ridance to you.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The Crappening Fits this Movie
Posted: 10/7/2008A review of The Happening by Pizzzmo
This is the worst movie I have ever seen... what a waste of money and more importantly, my time.... what a joke... if you have 2 hours to waste, you'd be better off slitting your wrist and dying a slow death... if the wind could only have blown my way during this crap... it would have put me out of my misery sooner than waiting for an ending...
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  INTRESTING AND SAD
Posted: 8/19/2008A review of The Happening by CINDYNR
THIS MOVIE WAS A COMPLETE MYSTERY FROM START TO FINISH. IT IS A DEPRESSING (SAD) MOVIE. SOME PARTS MADE ME CLOSE MY EYES BUT NOT A THRILLER
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The next Hitchcock? Heh!
Posted: 8/9/2008A review of The Happening by Long Back
Remember when the critics were claiming that the director was the next Alfred Hitchcock? Well, that seems forever ago! This movie was sad, sad, sad. There should be a suicide watch for anyone involved in making this movie...that's how rotten it was. It just opened up here in Vietnam, and though English is a second language here, I could've sworn someone leaving the theater saying, "What the hell was that?" I think even more puzzling than the ending (or lack thereof) was wondering, "Why was award-winning, respected actress Betty Buckley in this movie, and why did she play some sort of Misery-impersonating crackpot?" Nevertheless, you'll like it if you're the kind of person who likes to sit in a theater and crack jokes at bad movies. And to quote George H.W. Bush, "I am that man!" :)
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The Crappening
Posted: 8/6/2008A review of The Happening by crap-o-meter
The best comedy of the year! My fav part was the synchronized falling construction workers!! *sarcasm* In all seriousness though, don't waste your time even for a video rental.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Far Out
Posted: 7/30/2008A review of The Happening by 998877661
It could have been better but this movie did have its moments. The message is very worthwhile-lets take better care of this planet, or else the planet may take care of us. The fine singer and Broadway star, Betty Buckley, has an interesting and frightening turn as a psychotic recluse that Mark Wahlberg stumbles across in his efforts to save himself, his wife, and his friend's daughter. The movie held my interest, and the use of wind and blowing grass was very effective in presenting the horrific danger threatening the lives of the people.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 153
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video