Bing Search

The Amityville Horror

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 48
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Hmmmm
Posted: 2/25/2006A review of The Amityville Horror by Xx-Messi-Jessy-xX
Well I was expecting the movie to be scarier, so I was a little disappointed there, I havent seen the original or read the book, so I dont know which is better. I also think that the people who think its bad because its different to the real thing should realise it only BASED ON A TRUE STOREY It dont say THIS IS A TRUE STOREY which means it dont have to be EXACTLY like the real storey, or the book, or the Original. I did jump every now and then when I saw the scary faces (I hate them!) But I must say I enjoyed watching the movie, and I think that it couldve been better and scarier but its good enough for me Oh and I DID NOT AT ALL LIKE HIM KILLING THE DOG!! I almost cried wen I saw that!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  pretty good!!
Posted: 2/8/2006A review of The Amityville Horror by Мşş2buffs
This remake is good, I mean the original was good also. I think Ryan Reynolds, is the best thing in the movie. I think his wom in the movie, is hurt. But thats just me. oh yeah, back to the movie, it will make you jump, but not scare you, its kind of stupid also. BUt not ryan, he why i gave it 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Stupid
Posted: 2/5/2006A review of The Amityville Horror by Preston4045
I think that the movie was not scary at all and it dissapointed me
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  Spooky motherfr of a horror flik
Posted: 11/20/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by channz2751
The Amityville Horror (2005) was by far scary and one big spooky motherfr and will leave u tingling 4 hours on end. Worth a view on DVD. I cant say much about the original 1979 film cos I have not seen it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 2 users found this helpful  Horrible
Posted: 10/27/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by EyesOnMS
This movie is not based on truth, and is very boring.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  A BIG JOKE!!
Posted: 10/9/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by Niteyblossom
As I have read the novel and have seen the original movie, I must say the remake was a big disappointment. The movie didn't even remain true to the names of the characters....the little girl's name was Missy. I think the boys names were different too. They skipped over half the events that were present in the book and in the original movie. It wasn't even scary. The only really good scene was when the little girl was out on the roof. I think the original was way more scary and interesting than this sleepy remake. It was so disappointing. I think it could have been better if they had chosen to stay more true to the book. Actually both the original movie and Amityville 2 were better then the remake. The fireplace was what George kept putting the fire into not the furance in the basement. I think they had an oil or gas furance as well as the fireplace. I had no problems going to sleep after that movie........just walked away from it shaking my head in disbelief. Maybe if I hadn't read the book or seen the original, I might have thought differently. I think they took too many liberities with this movie that made it not so good.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 3 users found this helpful  Which Amittyville Horror Do You Perfer?
Posted: 6/28/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by movieviewer061
I think that this film was a little bit better than the 1979 version. But you have to admit it the graphics and characters got a lot better. Even thought I thought that the most spooky part of these films is that it is based upon a true story that happen in a small town. Because if you just think about it for a minute what it this had happen to you? Spooky HUH? I still recomend veiwing the film if your into horror pictures, but if your a person that jumps a lot when little things pop out don't even try seeing this movie, you'll probally pee your pants.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Scared Crazy
Posted: 6/23/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by premy602
This movie is so scary! I had my face covered the whole time watching through my fingers. I went to see this movie late at night and boy it scared the hell out of me!!! I mean everybody in the theater was screaming. It's really freaky at the fact that it's all based on a true story. I think them wihte people was crazy to move into the house in the first place. Stuff kept popping up randomly and freaky things were happening. The voices drove me crazy. And them dead people, especially Jody. When the baby sitter got trapped in the closet with her, man that was some crazy junk! I saw the older version and the 2005 remake is way way way better!!! I mean it scared the bejesus out of me! Anyone who's into horror films will like it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 4 users found this helpful  ok....
Posted: 5/25/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by pimpinpink0
the movie had some good points but most of it was just stupid. it was basically a more explained version of The Shining.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 5 users found this helpful  I don't know what happens at the end.
Posted: 5/21/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by MasterClioIII
The reason I don't know what happens at the end of the movie is because I went to Toys R' Us next door halfway through the movie. Not out of boredom, but because I can't handle scary movies, and this one was overkill on the scary scale in my opinion. My first mistake with this movie was going to the rundown theatre with my friend and his girlfriend. Second, we were the only ones in the theatre, excluding the guy at the ticket counter and the really ugly girl that gave me my Sprite. Third, we grabbed seats right in the middle of the theatre, and I'll admit I spent 50% of this movie looking over my shoulder and 40% trying to read my palms. My friend is never scared of scary movies, but I knew he wasn't huddling together with his gf just because she was scared out of her mind. Not only is this movie gruesome and startling, but it DOESN'T STOP. There are no breaks in the action. After the dude' Killtacular's his family at the beginning(which was gory and disturbing, but not look-away scary,) there is like a 20 minute break in the action while they're moving in, and that's all). Every scary part happens at night, and I think I saw the sunlight for about 2 minutes collectively, although they live there for like a month. The directing was very well done with a lot of drawn out foggy-bathroom and funny-noises-in-the-basement scenes. The acting was OK, with a great performance by the creepy little girl. Why are the little kids never scared of the dead people in these movies? The rest of the cast was believalbe; certainly not the laughably awful script-reading of Saw, and above average for horror movies like this. I would highly reccomend it for you freaks that laughed during The Ring, like my ex-gf. Maybe she was just laughing at me for hiding when the girl came out of the TV at the end. But that s*** WAS pretty scary the first time I saw it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 2 users found this helpful  Pretty good for a scare
Posted: 5/19/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by MrsMorand
This movie was a pretty good thriller if you can let go of the inaccuracies and the cheesy ending (what scary movie doesn't have a cheesy ending?...to be expected). I had a hard time watching without my hands over my eyes. It's quite a rollercoaster of scares from beginning to end. I really thought for a horror flick, this one did the job. For those of you hard-core Amityville buffs, or for those who are skeptic of the story entirely, you would be too critical of this film. But, if you're like me and you want some entertainment for your 10 bucks, I definitely recommend you see this film. Most scared I have been in a long time! Still have trouble doing the laundry in my basement to this day!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  amityville horror
Posted: 5/14/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by an unrecognized user
I was very skeptical- I guessed it would be too computer embellished too be really scary. I was wrong! It really left you with a "haunted feeling" That feeling seems to arise when I speak about it- then I can see it. This is surprising because I have watched all the real documentaries, read all the books and even listened to critics of this story, by the" Lutzes" on this house.That family- in real life- is seperated and broke. So, this was not a get rich story. So, I do know alot about it. This movie is scary because it speaks to the possibility of happening for real .
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 2 users found this helpful  disturbing
Posted: 5/8/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by Rockette0
All I can think to say about this movie is that it is MESSED UP! It was scary at times, and there were several "jump out and scare you" parts. But, it really is disturbing.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  hotdog!
Posted: 5/7/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by hottamale182
This movie was allright easpacially when the guy chops wood and takes his shirt off and lets us see those sexy abs. Anyways it was kinda scray loved the scary people who were in it. MAN those guys make u s*&% your pants when u see them. see the movie! now! weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee -ChaCha xoxox
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  off da chain
Posted: 5/7/2005A review of The Amityville Horror by freaki_bi_mami6969
this movie was off da chain!!!!!! It had so much scary parts and it was interesting. i never once wanted 2 leave because it was boring. if anything i wanted to leave because it was scary!! I dont kno about anyone else but i found some parts of the movie funny. maybe it's just me. But this movie was really good. i would definetly go back to see it
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 48
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video