Bing Search

Sparkle

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 8
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The Somewhat Movie of the Year
Posted: 12/19/2012A review of Sparkle by Real Housewives of Atlanta Lover
There was all this talk about "SPARKLE" and I honestly do feel as if Sparkle was a flop. Not because of the acting by Houston, Sparks, Epps or any of the other characters but it was a typical black movie. Not to be racist, but every movie based on music, love and blacks, it's had to do with drugs, gambling debt, alcoholism and even more important how these people were married multiple times. Hence movies like, Why Do falls in Love, What's Love Got to Do with It?, the oolder version of SPARKLE and Cadillac Records? Shall I say more? If you ask me also, the opening credits stated "Whitney Houston," but to me she really wasn't there. You couldn't feel her presence. Whitney's rendition of "His Eye is on the Sparrow" in my opinion was beautiful! She didn't have to sound as if she was Cyndi Lauper or Madonna in the 1980s (hence songs like I WANNA DANCE WITH SOMEBODY) I felt as if She should've performed several more songs in the movie like that of "The Preacher's Wife," where she sung "Joy to the World", "I Believe In You and Me", and "I Love the Lord." I also felt highly dissapointed how big she'd gotten. She looked haggard and rough with the "beer gut." Though I appreciate Salim Akil's updating the characters from the old version from the former film, I felt the storyline was all over the place. And this was just a repeat of Dreamgirls (whcih was way better anyway). Sorry to all my SPARKLE fans. Save your money. It ain't worth it (to all the perople who want to see it).
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Read my review
Posted: 8/27/2012A review of Sparkle by The truth hurts659
I want my hour and fifty-six minutes of my life back this movie $%&*s. If someone is thinking about watching it I recommend buying it pirated.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Was A Let Down
Posted: 8/22/2012A review of Sparkle by Girl 75
My mom and I expected more from this movie. I wanted to hear and see Whitney's voice & presence 1 last time. Her acting was pretty good but her singing voice was not. It went in and out, crackiing couple of times and she could not hit any HIGH notes at all, none! I like Mike Epps anyway and he did his thang! Jordin did fine,to me. Overall, the movie was so-so. Truthfully, I thought "Dreamgirls" was way better! Sorry to the "Sparkle" fans.:)
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Great remake of Great original movie
Posted: 8/18/2012A review of Sparkle by REBECCANJ
For those who are writing this movie doesn't showcase Whitney DIDN'T SEE THE ORIGINAL MOVIE!!! She ROCKED her role, which was a supporting not starring role. This was a great adaptation of a familiar black movie favorite. I guarentee that if you saw the first movie you didn't see it once. Its fun and a great night out. Great music!! Get your friends and GO SEE IT!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  see it
Posted: 8/17/2012A review of Sparkle by lovegirl13
is was great, with great music
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Wait for TV screening
Posted: 8/17/2012A review of Sparkle by DoubleDs5
Whoever rewrote this script should have taken a screen writers course from University of Phoenix on line. This is a laborious story that jumps from one climax to another with no nexus from theme to action. Sister carries the movie. She should have a leading role of her own. To make matters worst this is not a final Whitney showcase. This is not a movie that Whitney fans will even like or love. Whitney's talents, acting and singing, are under utilized, and the attempt to make her an intregal part of the story line failed. The music is nice, but not heart stopping. The love stories are not believable; there is no chemistry. The introduction of a religious story line did not help the movie become entertaining. This is disappointing feature film that should not have been made. Some movies do not require a remake.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Go See It!
Posted: 8/17/2012A review of Sparkle by Ronijm
I loved the original version of this movie, and wasn't sure if it was a good idea to re-make it or not. But I really enjoyed this version as well. The cast did an excellent job. I just wish Whitney was alive to enjoy the fruits of their labor.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Boring!
Posted: 8/16/2012A review of Sparkle by LilyElizabeth
Saw screening last eve. Disappointed! Long & boring. Same old story line...girl wants to be a singer complicated by family crisis (yawn...drugs, domestic abuse). Whitney Houston looked haggard with a big bloated tummy.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-8 of 8
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: