Bing Search

Safe Haven

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 13
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  ME ME ME
Posted: 3/17/2013A review of Safe Haven by yaaaaahn
This whole hodge podge must have been conjured in the mind of some bored housewife. Wonderful wife is abused by drunk hubby- same thing happened to Julia Roberts. Wife stabs hubby and runs away and lives with Munchkins in the happiest little village this side of OZ. In minutes she meets the sensitive, caring , vulnerable etc. etc. man of her dreams. Naturally he has lost his wife- not because he is human or a jerk, but due to some romantic tragedy. Hey girls- women who marry abusive men always find another of the same type. Girl looks perky and cute during the lame flirtation while we all wait for the inevitable hot encounter- he's on top- she's on top- they're both on top. Finally guy finds her secret- one that local sheriff walks by and misses daily. Then drunk abuser shows up and causes big scene and bang- girl and guy live happily ever after. Then they toss in the big plot twist which is soooo hokey, that we all just want to start singing- follow, follow, follow- follow the yellow brick road.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Great Movie - Great Book
Posted: 2/26/2013A review of Safe Haven by AzCwGirl
was a great movie, had already read the book and loved it !!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Very good movie for a date.
Posted: 2/25/2013A review of Safe Haven by woofdaddy
We really liked this film. I think Julianne Hough is a little diamond in the rough and she is not going to go away because she has so much grit. She is not a quitter and she is going to get better with every film. She doesn't have the natural talent like Jennifer Lawrence (who does) but she is a worker and she is going to make a big career as an actress just because she won't take no for an answer. Good for her!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Good movie! A safe haven for us!
Posted: 2/24/2013A review of Safe Haven by Mike in Gray GA
The problem with critics is they expect perfect movies all the time with Oscar potential....all we as moviegoers want is something to entertain us for two hours and provide an escape from our problems and issues....one critic complained about the detective's zealousness in tracking down Julianne Hough's character, Katie.....well, if you watched the movie you would know why....the same critic complained about how little we knew about Katie's issues she left behind..well, again, if you watched the movie, you would have understood why...so that critic is simply not qualified to do this job. I found the movie entertaining and it's plot unfolded nicely with some interesting turns towards the end...loved the little actress who played Lexie and the young man who played Josh...Julianne did fine and is always appealing simply for her girl next door charm and natural beauty...Josh Duhamel seemed out of his comfort zone to me but....was OK. Don't listen to any critics...this is a good movie worth your time...it won't win any Oscars, except maybe the young girl...but it won at the box office with me!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  good movie making
Posted: 2/22/2013A review of Safe Haven by over-the-rainbow2
It's a nice love story, about a woman with a mysterious past coming to a small town, starting over, and falling in love. The movie captures that small town feel nicely without drifing into corny caricatures. The musical score really adds to the enjoyment of watching this movie. It's well paced and has a nice storyline to follow, with interesting characters and scenery. There are problems. The story of how Julianne Hough's character (surprise; she can act) got into this situation doesn't really hold up. Why she didn't confront the situation when it spun out of control doesn't make sense in the real world. It would've gone better as a more mystical tale, in the lines of an allegory or less "real". The few parts that were violent or dangerous could've been done so they weren't really scary. Then the story could've stuck to having fun with love that transcends all. I didn't find the "surprise" at the end at all surprising. And, oh yeah, the critics must be deaf, dumb, and blind. Many moviegoers crave movies that have them feeling better about people and the human condition after watching the movie. The critics seem to be negative about anything that isn't a "how to" manual for potential mass murderers....they really should get with appreciating the kinds of movies that have the potential to make us better people.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Worth your time. Good story until end
Posted: 2/22/2013A review of Safe Haven by TOOOLDTOLIKEIT65
I did no looking at any reviews and was pleasantly surprised that we had found a show worth watching. It was a simple but complicated at times and it was plausible. The longer we watched the more interesting it got and predictable. It showed character and morals and what is right and wrong. It showed determination and fortitude. It showed that everyone is responsible for their own actions and how each individual can make it on their own if they try. It was a good show. And then the end came and I am not a fan of fantasy. I like to watch shows that are real and have some reality, life teaching qualities in them. But the author did not want to be too predictable and he/she put in a glitch that ruined it for me. It wasn't a bad ending but it threw the whole premise off. I did not appreciate the ending. It was a beautiful story and made it on its own and then that glitch that misrepresented itself. Shame on the author for turning a nice concept into a fantasy one. All in all, I am glad we saw it but I am old enough to know when writers foul things up when they get up one morning and things are different and they foul up a good story. Julianne Hough is a great dancer and is a real talent----did a good job. Duhamel did his job as well.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Mostly inspirational
Posted: 2/21/2013A review of Safe Haven by Misterwunderfool
Not deliberately, I have seen all 8 movies based on a Nicholas Sparks stories. As I recall the movies were mostly about nice people, more or less. No villains. Except perhaps life, or misfortune, or tragedy, or disappointment is the villain. It is so difficult to write a story without some kind of a villain or bad situation which creates conflict. Mostly Nicholas Sparks writes nice stories, quasi religious, not dogmatic, but inspirational stories about people finding love again after losing it, or people overcoming tragedy and disappointment in life. The movies are uplifting and encouraging and have a good attitude about romance, love, and social relationships. I liked the Notebook best. The Noteboook was a little bit of a mystery, because you did not realize the whole story until the end. Safe Haven is a mystery too. Only some information is revealed at the beginning to lead the viewer to believe one situation, and then later new information is revealed to show a different situation. The movie has some plot twists and changes in identity. The villain is not who he was at the beginning and also the woman who befriends the runaway girl is a suprise at the end. Frankly, the letter and the life after death theme brought tears to my eyes. I don't want to reveal too much information. Safe Haven is an entertaining, inspirational movie, without being preachy, intolerant, and dogmatic. Maybe the villain was a little too evil for an inspirational movie, but otherwise the film was "positive", not hostile, angry, or belligerant. Julianne Hough is real hot or real cool, or both. She is on my must see list for future movies. She walks around in shorts most of the time in the movie to show off her figure. She is an expert ballroom dancer so keeps in shape doing dancing exercises. She's good looking with a fascinating personality too. Josh Duhamel also makes a good leading man too. Let's face it guys, all guys cannot be the leading man. Lasse Halstro...
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Safe Haven was different, but awesome!
Posted: 2/18/2013A review of Safe Haven by DRuff34
I totally loved this movie. I read the book, both when it was released and again last month, and I will admit I was somewhat disappointed with the many differences between the book and the movie. It appears that's one of the critics' comments also. However, once I accepted the movie being somewhat different, I was able to sit back and enjoy another Nicholas Sparks romantic drama. I almost made it through the whole movie without weeping, but the end got me (again). Thanks, Nicholas Sparks, for another wonderful story that shows the power of love, and the basic need we all have to share life with someone.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Good Movie
Posted: 2/17/2013A review of Safe Haven by RonMontana
What was the critics watching? They surely don't get paid for their reviews. When ever the critics don't like a movie we go see it, and again they were wrong. This was a really good movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  SAFE HAVEN
Posted: 2/17/2013A review of Safe Haven by KNOWME6
WHAT A GREAT MOVIE!! JULIANNE IS SUCH A GREAT ACTRESS!! SHE IS SO GENUINE! SHE MADE ME CRY.......GREAT DATE MOVIE!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Great movie with heart and danger.
Posted: 2/15/2013A review of Safe Haven by A-live-and-well
My wife and I also absolutely loved Safe Haven.. a great story with action and romance. A great date movie. It is much much better than some of the hairball critics stated. I don't believe for one second that these critics actually saw the movie. Their opinion proves they didn't see or they missed a large chunk of the movie going to the rest room or snack bar. Anyway, SAFE HAVEN was a wonderful movie full of suspense, danger, and heart, well worth your hard earned money. Nicholas Sparks is a captivating writer and did a fantastic job here. Now I want to read the book. This movie was great. Wait until you see the end. It will blow you away.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Loved it!
Posted: 2/15/2013A review of Safe Haven by leanne_hoadley
I absolutely loved Safe Haven.. I felt as if this movie was better than THE NOTEBOOK. Nicholas Sparks is a genius!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 3 users found this helpful  Pleasant and Entertaining
Posted: 2/15/2013A review of Safe Haven by MNchic
I enjoy movies like I enjoy my books...not too heavy, believable characters, with a full dose of action and romance. This movie has all of those things, plus a couple of surprises thrown in. The critic rips this movie, but my husband and I both thought it was worth seeing. Maybe we aren't sophisticated movie-goers, but we enjoyed this movie and left the theatre feeling like we just saw a nice date-night movie...pleasant and entertaining
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-13 of 13
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: