Bing Search

Phat Girlz

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 15
Date
Helpful
Rating
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Lemons to Lemonade
Posted: 10/18/2006A review of Phat Girlz by Eldermom
I just saw Phat Girlz. The outcome of the story was predictable but it was a very entertaining presentation. This was the first feature film by the writer director. How many of us could do the same? It was the perfect framework to portray different aspects of the human condition in American society. Instead of criticizing people who are heavy, stop stereotyping and think. It was said that MoNique would never be a size 5. The genetic makeup of a body like hers is a result of many generations of women who survived when we were tribes of hunters and gatherers.The bodies of such women in those times were very efficient in keeping them alive and strong enough to reproduce thus, the survival of the fittest for the human race. Until this day and age the same genetic messaage lives in many groups of people.It would be interesting to see the physical manifestation of the alcohol, drugs and sexual perversions that are indulged by the so called fit and shapely individuals among us. This film was entertainment that had a messaage for some of us. Stop hating.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  PHAT GURLZ
Posted: 9/11/2006A review of Phat Girlz by thickerz
this movie was the bomb so all u haterz and low self esteem ppepz can kiss ass MONIQUE KEEP DOING UR THING REPRESENTING FOR US BIG WOMAN I AM FAT , BEAUTIFULL AND LOVIN IT AND SO ARE THE MEN,YOU KNOW!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 2 users found this helpful  Now I want to go see it!
Posted: 5/1/2006A review of Phat Girlz by Happylife251
I have not seen it yet. But, now I REALLY want to see it. With all those great reviews. How can I not go see it. And to those limited few that bad mouth Phat people and others.... Its said that people like you have to put down others just to make yourself look good.. It is YOU that has the problems.. Look at your own life. Get some help! Get a life. And stop bad mouthing others. Thanks to all the great reviews I will be seeing this movie soon. Im sure Ill be back to give my review.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 2 users found this helpful  luvin phat girlz
Posted: 4/29/2006A review of Phat Girlz by blupoet777
This movie was one of the best movies ever. Phat Girlz brought the better side of what big gurls are. Meaning big gurlz are not always just eating from one hand to another, but try to lose weight. Big girls mostly big girls always go to the extreme to look like some skinny chick. So that we can fit into the typical woman size. Every woman is not made to be skinny, and Im not saying that they should be obese either. Another thing the movie brings to the table is that it is sometimes hard for big gurls to find a decent guy. Monique and her friend in the movie both found that decent guy that likes them for them. So over all Phat Girlz is a really good movie. If a skinny chick saw the movie, she sees it has a movie that a fat girl got some and a man. But if a big gurl saw the movie, she sees it has an inspiration to her by showing her that there is a man out there for her and what ever dream(s) she may have that it may come true.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 4 users found this helpful  Terrible Message
Posted: 4/27/2006A review of Phat Girlz by vyper83
No wonder there is such a problem with obesity, diabetes and heart disease in this country. This movie is sending the message that is ok to be grossly overweight. Being that fat is not an issue of being unattractive, getting a date, or finding cute clothes, it is an issue of being extremely unhealthy. Someone with true self-respect would not do something like that to their bodies. The only excuse for obesity is a pre-existing medical condition that makes an individual gain abnormal amounts of weight. Most people (ie Monique) need to get off the couch and lay off the McDonalds. Hollywood has been villified for promoting excessive thinness, but this is just as bad. It is not ok to be fat!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 8 users found this helpful  Get rich or die poor!
Posted: 4/14/2006A review of Phat Girlz by gibba007
This movie was terrible! Id rather see fat lesbien women on screen with more interracial action combined with a really gay love seen...cool. Moonique is not attractive at all......... she looks like a dude in a realy fat skirt. Her son is ugly as well....... go lakers!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  ONE OF THE BEST COMIDIES OF THE YEAR
Posted: 4/12/2006A review of Phat Girlz by Ty2809
MoNique was hilarious in the movie. All the critics who said it was bad obviously were not paying any attention to the movie. Critics just base the reviews on who looks good and who doesnt and whoever isnt in their vision of a skinny white girl, they write bad reviews. Monique took that same attitude into her character who didnt care how big she was and took it in stride. It was great cast and great story line.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 28 users found this helpful  Try Slim Fast ..
Posted: 4/12/2006A review of Phat Girlz by TнeIđolEddieVŋoм
Hey Monique, sit your fat ass down and all you other fat woman. Please dont get too excited, we wouldnt want you all to get out of breathe!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
16 out of 18 users found this helpful  mgj12345
Posted: 4/11/2006A review of Phat Girlz by mgj123456
Well Monique I grew up just the opposite, a very slim little girl. The age of 34-present I started gaining due to a thyroid condition and menopause started. I use to be a 9-10 or 11-12- or even a 14-16 I am now a 18-20 and holding fast. Your movie inspired me to thank GOD just for being alive and not look on the outside so much but what is on the inside. My heart, soul, spirit and all. I am just as beautiful as a size 5-9 or 11-16. God looks at the heart not what I wear. I do exercise everyday by walking alot. So thank you Monique for understanding the frustration and pain this weight has caused me in the past. You are great, continue to follow your dreams and make us full figure women feel good about ourselves. Maybe you can start your talk show and I will come and model for you. (smile) Take care of yourself and your family and put the Lord first in all you do and know that all of us PHAT Girls Love You. Always mgj12345
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
16 out of 17 users found this helpful  YOU GO GIRL!!!!!
Posted: 4/10/2006A review of Phat Girlz by Lilmama6251
I THINK THAT PHAT GIRLZ WAS A WONDERFUL MOVIE IT WAS VERY ENCOURAGING I WOULD ENCOURAGE ANY WOMAN THAT THINKS LESS OF HERSELF TO REALLY GO SEE THIS MOVIE IT WAS TRUELY AN EYE OPENER NO MATTER WHAT THE WORLD SAYS HOW THEY PAINT A PICTURE OF HOW YOU SHOULD LOOK AND FEEL AND WHAT MAKES YOU A PERSON IS A TRUELY A BUNCH OF CRAP. WOMAN YOU MUST BELIEVE IN YOURSELF HAVE FAITH TRUST GOD AND ALWAYS REMEMBER THAT YOU WERE FEARFULLY AND WONDERFULLY MADE. DO NOT LET NO ONE TAKE THAT FROM YOU. ALSO REMEMBER LADIES TO CARRY YOURSELF AS A LADY I THINK NOW DAYS SO MANY OF US WOMAN HAVE LET OUR STANDARDS DOWN AND JUST EXCEPT ANYTHING FROM A MAN NO NO NO NO NO IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE LIKE THAT WE DESERVE THE BEST AND WE HAVE TO REMEMBER THAT IF WE WANT RESPECT FROM THE MEN THEN WE MUST LIFT THE STANDARDS BACK UP MAY GOD BLESS AND KEEP EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU LADIES
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
7 out of 15 users found this helpful  Dumb movie
Posted: 4/9/2006A review of Phat Girlz by Crazy Man
I think Monique is a great actress. She did the best job she could with a really bad script. The script seemed slap stickish, more dumb than funny. The gay character made want to puke, they could have left him out all together, and nobody would have missed him. I was hoping for a really funny movie and left slighly amused at best. Save your money on this one.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 12 users found this helpful  WOW
Posted: 4/9/2006A review of Phat Girlz by Knowledge 012
This movie must have been reviewed by fat people only. OK! We get it! Shes fat and happy. Wonderful! Anything else? 3 million the first weekend tells the real story. Sheesh! Could this movie be any more predictable?
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
15 out of 15 users found this helpful  A WINNER
Posted: 4/7/2006A review of Phat Girlz by gmanla0
I expected Big Mommas House type junk-food comedy, but was dumb struck by the wisdom, depth, and message of this wonderful new film. More than a simple movie about self-acceptance, Phat Girlz pays respect to the true African Heritage that every African American ought to be proud of. There is much to learn from this wonderful, funny funny movie. Who is this new genious Writer-Director Nnegest Likke? Where can I see more of her work??
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
16 out of 16 users found this helpful  Funny and Deep
Posted: 4/7/2006A review of Phat Girlz by boop97051
I saw this last night at a preview, and was pleasantly surprised. The acting is good- in fact, Monique really takes you into the world of the fat girl beautifully. This could have been a skinny girls are bad, fat girls are good joke, but it goes a lot deeper than that- how do we all look at ourselves, and what do we do to make ourself feel better? Also, the African doctors are so gorgeous!!!!! Im ready to move to Africa.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Get It Girl!!!
Posted: 3/27/2006A review of Phat Girlz by an unrecognized user
Although, I have not yet seen the film I am certain that it will be all that and a bag of chips. I think Monique is a very talented, beautiful, confident, and funny woman. I give her all respect in her career. And, for all you hatas saying she is a Queen Latifah wannabe you have to be dumb and ignorant. You can not even begin to compare the two. Why bother just because they are both full figured, beautiful African Amrican women. In fact Monique startd as a comedian and then actor motivational speaker and clothing designer. Queen Latifah on the other hand started as a rapper then actress,speaker, model for Covergirl with a line under her belt. So, tell me why would anyone in there right mind would say that Monique is a Quenn Latifah wannabee. GET YOUR MIND RIGHT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 15
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: