Bing Search

Nights in Rodanthe

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 27
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Read the Book!!!
Posted: 4/4/2009A review of Nights in Rodanthe by NicholasSparksFan
I am a huge fan of all the Nicolas Sparks books. I read this book, and thought it was a wonderful story about a divorced woman finding love again. I was excited when I heard it was being made into a movie. I went to it in the theater, and I was hugely disappointed! The movie people decided to make her still married, and cheapened it even further with the drunk food can throwing part. It was pathetic! The chemistry and inner struggles of each character were not adequately portrayed in the movie. If you want to be uplifted with the hope of finding true love, and you want to feel the real pain and struggles of the characters, READ THE BOOK INSTEAD! In fact, if you want a bunch of stories that will pull at your heart strings, then read all his books! The movie makers have not done any of his stories justice!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Borrrrrring
Posted: 2/14/2009A review of Nights in Rodanthe by Lisa_in_MN2
This was a lame movie although the beach house was awesome and Richard Gere is easy on the eyes....
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Good
Posted: 2/9/2009A review of Nights in Rodanthe by THamrick
A lot of people think that the beach part is not real and that somehow, it is all re-created along with the horses running later in the movie. Well, I live and work in Rodanthe. That house used is absoutely real. The location IS right on the beach as shown. Matter of fact..the house has been used as a weekly vacation rental for many years. It was condemned late last year due to damage from a storm. They are working on the reapairs, nothing serious. So the actual house and location are real. The wild horses...are kinda real. I have never seen them this far south. Usually the wild horses are found about 70 miles north in Corolla, NC. So the horses are a part of the Outer Banks, but not really a part of Rodanthe. Oh, and the Jo-Bob's Trading Post is ALSO a real place! Anyway, loved the movie. Wanted to be an extra but didn't get selected. Oh well!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Nights in Rodanthe
Posted: 11/8/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by speedcat1949
I loved this movie. I read the book so I knew the sad ending. Even though I would have loved to see a happy ending, the screen writers stayed true to the book. I thought the acting was superb, who cannot love Richard Gere! Diane Lane was wonderful and the scenery was breathtaking.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Bring Tissues!
Posted: 10/29/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by mywittsend
I love a movie that makes you cry and I haven't cried so hard in a long time. Scenery was beautiful! Story was capturing. I will have to read the book. Loved the little happy twist at the end.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  very slow
Posted: 10/26/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by zoozyqt1
i give this movie 4 outta 10. I was expecting better from previous reviews i had read.I did have a few tears but would NOT rcommend it at all.It was boring!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Night in Rodanthe
Posted: 10/25/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by romantic-Celly
Unfortunately, prior to seeing this movie( because of the two leading actors), I was told the ending by a inconsiderate co-worker. Overall, tho' knowing the outcome, I liked the movie. The beginning was very slow and scattered, but halfway thru, since I'm a professed romantic, I like the meaning and moral to the story. After all, no matter how sappy the love story, we all go to the theatre to escape the reality of life and relationships. I do believe there is a beautiful love possibly out there for us all if we are patient or lucky enough to find it. So, for all of you fellow-hopesters, go see it!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  HORRIBLE
Posted: 10/21/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by Roe
Don't waste your money on this one. The acting was flat and the movie was Horrible
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Terrible Romantic Movie
Posted: 10/11/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by Terrible407
I have seen hundreds of romantic movies over the last 25 years and this is the absolute worst. Could they shove any more hallmark moments dripping with sap down our throats? I felt more like throwing from the complete crap in the dialogue and never ending stream of clichés. What a let down compared to the Notebook (which by the way is one of my all time favorites).
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  A Good Night Out
Posted: 10/10/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by ttaylormd
People go to the movies to escape the pressures and stress of life. This movie allows you to forget your problems for a couple of hours and be entertained. I have heard others say when you think you have it rough, there is always someone who has it worse. It is not an epic film or one that carries a political message. It is a subtle commentary on interpersonal relationships on many levels. Given the constraints of modern filmmaking, it is going to be different from the book. The plot is predictable, but the story line does explore the insecurities of the proud Doctor who can't admit he made a mistake (Richard Gere) and the impact of a woman, who strives to be the perfect wife and mom (Diane Lane), but whose marriage has failed, has on him. The potency of the story, however, is the effect on Diane Lane of losing two lovers-both through no fault of her own. The result of both losses affect her relationship with her teenage daughter in different ways. Those who wrote the poor reviews failed to understand what the author of the story was trying to describe. The cinematography is powerful, and for those who wonder, the car is the new Jaguar XJR coupe.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Come on...
Posted: 10/6/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by breadb1
"She was so purty... So purty...." Come on, people!!! Just because you over act and stereotype, you will make a great story. It was nauseating and fake. Richard Gere was just not up to parr, making faces as he was straining to cry... Save your money by telling people around you that you love them. Don't watch that garbage.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Good Film
Posted: 10/5/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by ironhusky
This film was very good except the ending. It was very sad and i did not expect this. I was hoping they would be happy together. Richard Gere and Diane Lane are awesome together. They both look great!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  not bad
Posted: 10/5/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by follybeachr1
The beach was great, as was the car!! What was it? Nice story and cried.. Again what kind of car was that?
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  girlingeorgia
Posted: 10/3/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by junegirlingeorgia
I knew I was already at a great disadvantage having read the book beforehand. However, the obvious lack of chemistry between Gere and Lane was just painful. By the end of the film, Lane's tears were actually vexacious. On the brighter side, it was Mae Whitman's performance at the end that made the trip to see this film worthwhile. I look forward to seeing more of her in films.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Book was so much better...
Posted: 10/3/2008A review of Nights in Rodanthe by BevyW
While books are always better than the movies made from them, this one was a particular disappointment to me. I thought Gere and Lane did a superb job, however, but to me their 'connection' wasn't illustrated nearly as beautifully and as strong as in the book. The scenery was beautiful, but what were the writers/producers thinking when they called the storm a 'hurricane' and the characters remained in the house which was already in the shoreline?! That was too unrealistic. If you've not read the book, I can see where it would be a tearjerker of a love story.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 27
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video