Bing Search

Lincoln

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 36
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Lincoln - DVD
Posted: 7/3/2013A review of Lincoln by DANIEL J. FREBURG
Enjoyable - Historical setting was very awesome, including costumes, dialogue, scenery, background, etc... - Interesting and intriguing insights - The wide historical perspective often zooming into upclose character perspective and then returning to wide historical perspective. Actors we comfortably amazing and surprising. A very true positive example of Hollywood's abilities to amaze and capture.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Lincoln
Posted: 3/7/2013A review of Lincoln by gman 600
Well acted. Interesting. If you want to know why it is so hard to get anything done in the political area, this movie will explain why.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  One persons opinion.
Posted: 2/24/2013A review of Lincoln by Marthasheadache
Not so much a review, just a quick endorsement. Lincoln is a tender and sensitively handled rendition of a humble man who became a giant, and his final agonizing years as he struggles to keep a country and his family from falling apart.. It deserves to win tonight!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Lincoln
Posted: 2/24/2013A review of Lincoln by jackiebr56
I love history so when I saw the previews it wasn't if I go to see It's when does it come out. I went and was not disappointed. I learned alot about Lincoln that I didn't know. The closeness he had with his youngest son was very heart warming to see. He was a very passionate man in his private life, and as the President. Totaly 2 different sets of Republicans then and now. Daniel Day Lewis was breath taking a master of his character. Steven did an awesome job was very impressed. I can't wait for the DVD to come out it is a must see and must have.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Boring..
Posted: 2/4/2013A review of Lincoln by GOBAMAaaaaa
The only good thing about this movie was the 30 minute nap I was able to get in..
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  History Lesson
Posted: 1/21/2013A review of Lincoln by 998877661
Interesting presentation of the political battle for the 13th Amendment. Daniel Day-Lewis is excellent as Lincoln, and Hal Holbrook, David Straithern, and Tommy Lee Jones are perfect in support. Probably not going to get much play in the South, but for history buffs and those who have been inspired by the Lincoln legacy, its certainly worth viewing. Most likely a third Oscar for DDL.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  If youre looking for action , not
Posted: 1/13/2013A review of Lincoln by ZUDWUAS
Initially it was slow, then, the actors just pulled you in. Thank goodness this movie had a plot unlike the other slam bam, rock em, no nonsense they put out.......Great History, Timely, and Worthy of an Oscar......Actors, were Fantastic......
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Too much political chatter
Posted: 1/11/2013A review of Lincoln by Fantastic270
Yes, the acting was very good but there was too much political chatter. I didn't pay money to see men debate about the 13th amendment and the manipulation used to get it passed. This subject took up most of the movie. It was a complete bore. I was informed by friends that it was such a great movie...different strokes for different folks!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  For Real
Posted: 1/3/2013A review of Lincoln by American 1776
All students 15 and older should see this Movie. They might learn something about how and why the 13th Ammendment was created and passed. It is a great history lesson we all need to be reminded of. The only critisium I might have is that the true reasons the southern states resisted the freeing of the slaves could have been explained more from an economic point. I would watch it again and probably will with my Grandchildren soon. Much applause to Tommy Lee Jones. So believable in his role. Best acting in the movie. My bride agrees
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Absolutely, hands down one of the worst.
Posted: 1/3/2013A review of Lincoln by Needlesstosay
This movie had been out for a while before I had the chance to see it. I was very disappointed, so much to the fact that I had to write a review to warn others to stay away. I read the other reviews and thought "wow, history...this sounds really great".....not a chance! It was so bad that I actually walked out (1st time that has happened) and was totally disappointed. They could have done so much more especially regarding the main character Lincoln, I mean c'mon, this was a historic moment in this country's history and should have highlighted on other things instead of a bunch of old windbags jousting each other in debates each time you turn around, as they did throughout the whole movie. I mean I didn't even finish eating my popcorn! Somebody missed the mark on this one! I am surprised no one else had written a bad review on Lincoln...maybe still in disbelief.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Boring
Posted: 12/31/2012A review of Lincoln by zoozyqt1
It didn't tell me anything new.Saw it all on HBO last year and HBO was more interesting All yakkety yak Sorry but I gave it 2 outta 10
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Future Oscar Winner
Posted: 12/28/2012A review of Lincoln by Cinnamon777
This is the best movie I have seen since The King's Speech. I find it incredible that some found it boring! Yes there is a lot of talking, in the style of the 1930's & 1940's movies when the plot and characters were allowed to develop and the audience was expected to think and process the story and characters, not just passively observe. Perhaps it is the thinking part that many reviewers object to. They expect pure entertainment, shoot outs, unbelievable car chases and explosions. They do not know how to evaluate or analyze a story when they are treated like intelligent beings. It should sweep the Oscars.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Draws you In
Posted: 12/23/2012A review of Lincoln by yaaaaahn
I thought it was going to be a broad story of Lincoln, with all the regular history book stuff like learning to read by candle light, splittin' rails, Gettysburg address and the final end. But keeping the story confined to that short time when Lincoln fought tooth and nail for the 13th amendment was a brilliant move. I was pulled into the whole story and wanted to know more about those various characters during that period. I'm no judge of acting, but I thought Lewis did a good job along with Sally Field as the unstable Mrs. Lincoln. I think they missed a bit with Tommy Lee Jones, who brought that same persona he brings in a lot of his roles. He is one of the guys I like to see in movies, but I think the director should have given him a bit less strength and a lot more more soul searching . Its a quality film, entertaining enough for adults and serious young people. Not for the car chase and machine gun crowd.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Lincoln lives again
Posted: 12/22/2012A review of Lincoln by bachspal
Mary Lincoln tells her husband that the people love him. She was right then and right now. Think Lincoln Memorial...I mean, it reminds me of some gigantic Ramses statue in an Egyptian temple-but in a good way. We know all the folksy anecdotes; his depressions, his many sadnesses, and the tragic loss of three of his sons. But I was amazed to realize that I was watching something new about Lincoln, and the experience was as immediate as being in the room. It would have been very easy to muck it up, but Daniel-Day Lewis never put a foot wrong. Yes, there's a lot of talking, and initially I was a bit confused. Then I was *($@ed in and I didn't surface until the credits started rolling. Those congressmen make tea baggers look pretty tame. You have to be cagey to stay in front of that mob! It puts our current political stalemate into perspective. Don't let someone dissuade you from seeing this movie. Take a stand..you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  snooze
Posted: 12/22/2012A review of Lincoln by likyalot
yac yac yac, blah blah blah... It is boring and I have a degree in history. People left the theatre in the middle of the movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 36
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: