Bing Search

Les Misérables

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 29
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Les Miserables review
Posted: 3/28/2013A review of Les Misérables by DANIEL J. FREBURG
- very extraordinary - a huge cinematic production delightfully displayed yet interesting and entertaining - old Hollywood musical theme surrounded by modern Hollywood, very extraordinary - delightful - Character insights brought the attention into each scene and then becomes surrounded by the musical becoming very dramatic - incredible actors and actresses - a delight! D.J.F.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Inspiring and Engaging
Posted: 1/20/2013A review of Les Misérables by NightShade10
Just got in from seeing Les Misérables, with Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe, Ann Hathaway, even Helena Bonham Carter and Sasha Baron Cohen were in it... What an absolute lovely surprise! It was so good, and it wasn't the singing necessarily but it was the acting put into the song and story. Brilliant, absolutely brilliant! In the times we live in, Hollywood hit the mark with this movie and touched a cord inside the hearts of those who long for liberty, equality, and justice.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  LesMiserables
Posted: 1/13/2013A review of Les Misérables by Martie151
I loved this picture. All the reviews I have read are very hard on Russell Crow. I believe he did a fabulous job with something that was out of his element. Which one of us would have put ourselves out there like that. His struggles with the vocals only made his character more believable for me! Hugh Jackman was also fantastic! I would see this again and again.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Not a drama and not a musical
Posted: 1/12/2013A review of Les Misérables by sam5289
This a producer's flop who believed that a big Hollywood stars with no singing voices could make a day. The only child actors partly saved the day. The worst of all was Russel Crow who played a great Hollywood star. Hugh Jackman played something like Wolverine. Ann Hatheway also won't save a day. Young Cosette and young Epone were good, but Gavroche was best of all (maybe because he was played by 3 actors).
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  COULDNT WAIT TO GET OUT OF THE THEATRE!
Posted: 1/7/2013A review of Les Misérables by beautifuldreamer99
I was really looking forward to seeing this movie, but boy was I ever disappointed. First of all, it was way too long. Secondly, every darn line was sung, which really drives me up the wall. I mean, you expect to hear music in a musical, but to have the actors sing every line that comes out of their mouths is just too annoying for me personally. Also, whom ever told Russell Crowe that he could sing is full of a lot of codswallop -- he was absolutely terrible. The only saving grace out of the whole movie was Hugh Jackman, but outside out of that, I was not impressed. Thank goodness my husband and I sprung for the VIP seats at our local AMC Theatre, because if we had sat that long in the regular seats we are not sure that we would have been able to make it through to the end of the movie. All in all, I was very disappointed by the movie, and I could not in good conscience recommend it to anyone. Save your money, as well as the time that it takes ti sit through this movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Great story and acting, terrible filming
Posted: 1/6/2013A review of Les Misérables by T DUB U
The story was great and the actors gave amazingly powerful performances, however the constant exteme close-ups was distracting. For most of the movie, an actor's face fills the entire screen and sometimes is larger than the screen. I got tired of looking down their throat, up their nose, and into their ear.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Musical or Opera?
Posted: 1/4/2013A review of Les Misérables by TomNV
I gave it three stars because that's the average score that results from my wife loving it and the score I gave it. I like musicals but this was like an opera. Almost all dialogue is sung and that's very distracting. Most people wouldn't sing when they were dragging a ship into a drydock in the pouring rain, but these people do. The movie wants to be an epic, but the photography looks as if it were shot with a small camera and enlarged way too much. In addition, the story jumps too quickly. We see Fantine working in a factory one moment and selling her hair, teeth, and body another. A second later she dies. Jean Valjean looked the same to me throughout the movie but he seems to be able to disguise himself from everyone else, including Jaubert, the official who was once a prison guard but moves through the movie wearing different uniforms without any explanation. At one point he has earned a medal that he pins on a young boy who is killed in the revolution, but Jaubert is on the other side of the conflict. One tragic scene follows another until the movie it begins to feel like a Humane Society commercial. Overall - Too much singing, poor plot development, way too many tragedies, weak photograpic technique. But I managed to get a nap until my wife woke me up.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  WOW.....the singing was really really BA
Posted: 1/2/2013A review of Les Misérables by Northportreefdiver
First of all let me tell you that after reading the viewer’s reviews, I was really looking forward to seeing this movie. Unfortunately, after approximately an hour, I was hoping for a break in the singing with just some plain talk, but it never came. All around, this movie is an insult to this beautiful musical that has some incredibly touching and powerful songs. For 2.5 hours I was waiting for the power and the beauty of the musical score to come alive on the screen….but it never arrived!! WOW….was this bad!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Bloated and boring
Posted: 1/1/2013A review of Les Misérables by richard75006
My wife and I did not enjoy this film, at all. Russel and Hugh can't sing to save their lives and unfortunately Anne's character dies too soon. I think people will either absolutely love this film or will sit there wishing and hoping for the end to come. We found ourselves in the latter category. But the movie is ambitious, the costumes and sets are great and the story is a classic.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  An Awesome, Moving Movie
Posted: 1/1/2013A review of Les Misérables by Huge Batman fan
I don't often rate new movies but Les Miserables was perhaps the best movie I have seen. The storyline held my attention, the actors/actresses were impeccable in their roles and singing. Hugh Jackman deserves a nomination for Best Actor as he leads the movie very well. What a change in him in the movie! The singing and the score was very good, with plenty of passion and made me listen closer than normal to hear the lyrics to follow the story. We saw the movie in Big D and that added a lot to the movie. Do not wait for the DVD, nothing beats the experience in a state of the art theater. I don't believe the critics 3 star rating, they picked out things the normal movie goer never would. Bring tissues, my wife and I had the tears flowing since the storyline is so good and so believable.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 2 users found this helpful  The Play Was a Lot Better
Posted: 1/1/2013A review of Les Misérables by Double-Down6
This movie has terrific actors, of whom all but two have little singing talent. The concept of singing live then dubbing in the orchestra later was intriguing but it just didn't work (unless you like a full rich orchestra with thin, tinny voices). Also, songs are written to be sung - not sobbed through, choked through, sniffled through, recited nor especially sung noticeably off key. Only the actors portraying Marius and Eponine had Broadway-worthy voices. I think Anne Hathaway would have done much better with "I Dreamed a Dream" had she not sobbed and sniffed all the way through it. Hugh Jackman's acting was very good, but his singing was awful. And the songs sung by Amanda Seyfried were way beyond her voice's range. The production was lavish and otherwise well-done. All the acting was superb (Anne Hathaway especially) - but unfortunately, not every actor is a singer - and a musical is, after all, about the music.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Amazing
Posted: 12/31/2012A review of Les Misérables by Alammers1
Everything about this movie is moving, beautiful and amazing. I can't wait to see it again.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  25th Anniversary Les Mis in Concert DVD
Posted: 12/30/2012A review of Les Misérables by Belldar
If you liked/loved the Movie and espeially the Music you MUST buy the 25th Anniversary DVD of Les Mis in Concert at the "O" in London. Performed over 2 nites before 80,000 fans with the Greatest Cast of all time. Samantha Barks (the only one from this performance to make it to the movie) is also in the DVD as Eponione. Alfie Boe, in my opinion (I've seen the show 8 times) is the best Valjean EVER (yes, even better than Colmn Wilkinson) and Leah Salonga (original Miss Saigon) sings "I dreamed a Dream with incredible power and emotion (different, but equally as good as Anne Hathaway. The Thenardiers" kill it" and stop the show with "Master of the House". Throw in the 100 piece London Philharmonic orchestra and a 200 person choir and you have a once in a lifetime event which I've already watched about 100 times (lol). Nick Jonas as Marius is a somewhat weak link but nowhere near as weak as Ryssel Crowe in the movie. Every singer here is better than the movie version. It's that simple....BUY IT...YOU'LL THANK ME for turning you on to it. Note: the 25th Anniversary CD is good and worth buying BUT is the broadway cast of 2010 NOT this special performance at "the BIG O".
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Brilliant
Posted: 12/30/2012A review of Les Misérables by Prof2012
A movie with gravitas. How nice. It makes a lot of the other movies seem so shallow and trivial.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Absolutely BRILLIANT!
Posted: 12/29/2012A review of Les Misérables by woofdaddy
This movie is a work of art. I am not a big fan of musicals and this is one where almost everything is sung so I was somewhat skeptical. I was so wrong. It makes you cry just because it is so emotionally beautiful. All the talk seems to be about Hugh Jackman and Ann Hathaway, and they are great, but everyone else is great too. Russell Crowe, Amanda Seyfried, Eddie Redmayne, Sasha Baron Cohen, Helena Bonham Carter, and everyone else are beyond belief. This movie just MOVES you. I go to tons of movies and there have been many excellent films this year. Argo, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, and probably Zero Dark Thirty (haven't seen it yet) would probably each win Best Picture Oscars in any other year but this year they have to fight it out with each other and then Tom Hooper does this. It's really not fair to compare the other films to this one. This is just a very special film that comes along once a decade and you do not want to miss it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 29
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: