Bing Search

Larry Crowne

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 14
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  lots of respect, but...
Posted: 12/21/2011A review of Larry Crowne by masa190
this movie rubbed me the wrong way ... i always like Tom Hanks. he has been one of my favorite actors. but come on ... to be playing a part of a struggling american (i am one of them) knowingly that in real life he is a multi millionaire makes me wonder. it's like having a convicted child molester who plays a part in a movie as a federal prosecutor. sorry tom hanks!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  I recommend
Posted: 7/24/2011A review of Larry Crowne by an unrecognized user
Nice movie. Not violent or vulgar. Good ending.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Low Budget film
Posted: 7/13/2011A review of Larry Crowne by gto19701
This film is "cute". However, Tom Hanks was to old to play the part. Julia Roberts is so skinny she is no longer attractive. Tom Hanks wrote, directed, acted and produced this movie. The make up on the actors was just terrible, so was the hair piece Tom Hanks wore.It looked like it came from some garage sale. It was as though Tom Hanks was giving everyone on the crew a first job. I just love Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, but this film is rated in my opinion as a C-.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Thumbs up !!
Posted: 7/11/2011A review of Larry Crowne by megapwr5
another fine movie tom hanks produced. good mix of drama and comedy combined. we all loved the movie. big Thumbs up !! worth the price to see.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  The worst Tom Hanks Movie Ive seen
Posted: 7/11/2011A review of Larry Crowne by Adliberated
I love Tom Hanks as well i think Julia Roberts is very good or likeable in a movie. There really is no attraction let alone a relationship with them it comes out of the blue no sparks at all. She really isn't in the movie much with him outside of the classroom. And again she played a miserablet character..nothing like her perky self. Tom Hanks looked very old and Julia looks anymore like she borrowed Steven Tyler's lips. Are there no movies this summer with some true romantic spark? And we hardly lauged only a chuckle or two.. But i did like the likeable story of a man down and out with todays economy..but it just didn't deliver otherwise. Sorry Tom..i still love ya but is one of two truly horrible movies you've made.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  This is what movies used to be ...
Posted: 7/10/2011A review of Larry Crowne by connected1624
Movies should be a form of entertainment, and that's exactly what this movie was all about. It made its connection with modern times and the tough economy to draw in the viewer. Give credit to Tom Hanks for knowing the times and his audience. Julia Roberts always adds that bit of spunk, humor, and edge to her characters. She did that very well in this movie, too. Cederic the Entertainer was a fine supporting actor, and added the humor I expected with his role as the good neighbor with the constant yard sale. The Vespa Squad added a nice touch to show how the older generation is out of touch with the younger generation, but willing to listen, understand, and even play along. There probably could have been a part for Nia V. )My Big Fat Greek Wedding) the other writer. All in all no one is going to win an Academy Award, but compared to the other choices at the box office this past weekend, Larry wears the Crowne!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  over too soon
Posted: 7/9/2011A review of Larry Crowne by teach54
This movie is a reminder of what is happening with corporate America at the expense of the working class. The movie manages to put a happy spin to the loss of job and home with a love story. I enjoyed it very much but wish the story lasted a bit longer. Tom hanks is terrific!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Disappointed
Posted: 7/8/2011A review of Larry Crowne by rcd735
The movie wasn't horrible, but my overall opinion was that it was NOT a fitting vehicle or story for either Tom Hanks' or Julia Roberts' talents. The plot was thin and predictable, there was little exploration of either of the characters, the relationship with the "motorbike gang" was inexplicable and contrived, and there was absolutely no foundatation for why the two leads should have ended up together. Why did any of this happen? Just because someone wrote it that way, I guess. Don't waste your time and money.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Terrible
Posted: 7/6/2011A review of Larry Crowne by an unrecognized user
As a Tom Hanks fan, I have to say this is his worst film and performance to date. The plot is shallow and child-like. Might be a hit with Saturday cartoon audience or the canned laughter sit-coms lovers in the evening. He and Julia, whose character is equally paper thin, must have needed some quick easy money.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  was Surprised
Posted: 7/5/2011A review of Larry Crowne by Ģăêŝ233
me and my wife saw the advertising for the movie on tv.. The movie was inspiring due to it reflected on what is happening in todays economy ..Tom Hanks ,JulieRoberts ,Cedric the Entertainer was Awesome together ...Reccomend movie to everyone I know...
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  Absolutely delightful
Posted: 7/5/2011A review of Larry Crowne by a40-50something
This is one of those movies that when you leave, you just feel good. There are no hidden deep messages: it is right out there, in your face, positive feelings and outcomes. I am not the president of the Tom Hanks fan club but in this movie I just fell in love. I am a Julia Roberts fan and she definitely lived up to my fan status. I am really trying to look at life, all of life, in a more positive way and this is just the kind of flick to bolster that effort. Thanks for the great summer happy relief from the heat.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  not up to expectations
Posted: 7/4/2011A review of Larry Crowne by an unrecognized user
The only thing that made this movie worth watching was it starred Julia Roberts. The plot really dragged. You keep waiting for some action, but it doesn't happen. There really wasn't a plot. There were some spots that actually made me laugh, but they were few and far in between.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Nice clean movie
Posted: 7/3/2011A review of Larry Crowne by LilyElizabeth
Great movie for good clean humor. Tom Hanks was his loveable self. Julia Roberts was convincing as a scorned wife. The two had great chemistry!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  They Deliver!
Posted: 7/3/2011A review of Larry Crowne by Lynne60
Tom Hanks has delivered the unusual; a feel good, make you smile, make you laugh, even tear up a bit movie. It isn't easy to find a movie without an overload of bad behavior and special effects to carry the story, yet this is what he's given us. It's a current story with likable and yes, even lovable characters. With quite a few recognizable names, everyone gives solid performances. This is exactly what I expect and it's exactly what I want from Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts. It's a subtle and lovely movie. I left feeling happy and content...not easy to do with most movies today.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-14 of 14
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video