Bing Search

Eraserhead

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 12
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  mommy I had a bad dream
Posted: 10/26/2006A review of Eraserhead by slurpie87
this movie is like a really bad nightmare caught on film. It was thought-provoking, but not very entertaining, imo
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  Not for Everyone
Posted: 4/8/2003A review of Eraserhead by greennova2001
This movie should be pictured in the dictionary next to the word ";strange";. However, it is by far one of the most disturbing things I have ever had the pleasure of watching. I love David Lynch movies, and although this one is probably the most unusual one he ever made, it is a film which will forever change the way you look at parenthood and relationships. This movie is EXTREMELY difficult to find, at least in my part of the country, but if you're lucky, you'll stumble across it somewhere. Don't pass it up. It doesn't really become scary until the radiator woman starts singing. From that point on it is totally creepy (before that it is a little funny).
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
5 out of 15 users found this helpful  Try Not To Look So Lost
Posted: 10/18/2002A review of Eraserhead by GiganticLovePlug
This is good in any language, in color, even at the dinner table. Come live. Hear the rattler's come out from under your sofa where you relax. Feel the Boa sneak around your neck with all of its heaviness. Who's the boss now, human! Who will believe this when they find you here wrapped in PVC, with your meat in your hand and a smile on your face. DOA-- auto erotic asphyxiation... What a great thrill!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  Genius, Absolute Genius
Posted: 10/25/2002A review of Eraserhead by NeptuneTheMystic
Eraserhead is, perhaps, the most surreal film ever made (even more surreal than Un Chien Andalou). It is also one of the best films ever made. It affects a person on many levels. It is disturbing, funny, and frightening all at the same time. Visually, it is perfect. The use of B&W was the only medium that could have been used for this movie. Color would have cheapened it. In essence, Eraserhead is a film about Henry Spencer and his life in his world. It is about the struggle between good (the lady in the radiator) and evil (the baby and the man in the planet) and their competition to gain control of humanity. And, of greatest importance, it is a complete mind trip. The images and sounds of the film are designed to capture a person's attention and to draw them into Henry's world. Within Henry's world everything is consistent, though his world is a bit askew from ";normal"; reality. Once pulled into his fantasy reality, Lynch manipulates the audiences deepest feelings, never to harm but only to present them with an alternate sense of what could be real. Watching this film is like watching a nightmare vividly portrayed on the screen.Lynch is a true movie making genius. He uses his incredible skills to carry his audiences to regions of their psyches where they never ventured before. Perhaps Eraserhead is not right for everybody, but as an example of the power and effect of the film medium it is unsurpassed.Other films that are excellent samples of Lynch's work are ";The Elephant Man"; and ";Blue Velvet."; Both come highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 3 users found this helpful  A Timeless Classic
Posted: 10/22/2002A review of Eraserhead by Joe Horizon
Those who think Mulholland Drive is weird never saw this one. Eraserhead is on my top ten best ever made. This is a David Lynch masterpiece. I do not expect the movie to be popular for the next three hundred years. Then it will be. This one will not sell fortune 500 products to the consumer but will stimulate the art lover with a taste for surrealism. Here's the story line of the movie: There isn't one. See it twice before judging. David Lynch, YOU ARE THE MAN!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 4 users found this helpful  Yes! I agree...but...
Posted: 10/22/2002A review of Eraserhead by Anothernonaymous0
I watched Eraserhead not many months after it's release and I was stunned.. Normally flicks of this nature cause me to yawn alot but this one was different. Irrelevant in it's structure it none the less riveted me to the screen primairly due to the outlandish special effects which in my mind were well ahead of their time as well as not giving the audience that 'hokie' feeling as so many before and after has done. In short, I agree with the overall ratings of this flick. The only thing I disagreed on was the multi chioce question which asked if you watch it again on TV...I say it had better be pay TV or else the entire story will be lost as the cutting board grows with un-watched scenes. Watch it! But view it in it's un-cut entirity.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 4 users found this helpful  Eraserhead
Posted: 10/23/2002A review of Eraserhead by Dana in MN
Eraserhead is just one of them movies you HAVE to see. (and see some more) And then you can start to wonder.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  first hand experience
Posted: 10/29/2002A review of Eraserhead by UsingChris1973
This is one of those films that needs to be watched at the right place and the right time in ones life. It's very much like taking a bad hit of acid and having to fight hard to control a sense of identity through the trip. Eraserhead is more than a just a horror film it is an exploration into the depths of paranoia and insecurity that exisit in us all. No one can watch this film and walk away without a profound change in the psyche of some sort. Additionally, I lved in center-city Philadelphia when I first watched this film. David Lynch wrote the screen play while attending the Univ. of the Arts in Philadelphia. The morning after watching this film was like an unescapable dream as I made my way to the underground subway station. If you live or visit there, you know what I mean.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 3 users found this helpful  This movie is awesome
Posted: 10/19/2002A review of Eraserhead by radiatorheaven
This movie is crazy and doesn't make lots of sense, but it is great! Everyone should see it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Enter the title of your review.
Posted: 10/29/2002A review of Eraserhead by an unrecognized user
I'm compelled to write this review after seeing this movie on the top 10 “scariest movies” list. The only list I would put this movie on is top ten over rated movies. Why some people think movie is art is beyond me. Here's the message, Life sucks, oh and gross, let's see how gross an image I can put on screen. I appreciate all types of film, from ";art"; films to ";b"; movies and could find nothing worthwhile in this film. I'm not blaming David Lynch. I loved Blue Velvet and Dune (as a separate entity from the books), but I just don't get the adoration this film receives. I just think that this movie is so jarring that people like to say they love it so they feel avant-garde.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
22 out of 36 users found this helpful  This is the weirdest movie
Posted: 10/19/2002A review of Eraserhead by LMFCay
I rented this movie back in the 80's with a boyfriend that recommend we watch this. I thought by far it is the weirdest movie I have ever seen. It is so deranged that I couldn't help but keep watching. I have told friends about this movie before and they have never heard of it. If you want to watch something that is sooo weird I recommend this movie. I can't even give it a rateing because it's that weird.Weirded out!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Excelent movie with low budget
Posted: 10/25/2002A review of Eraserhead by an unrecognized user
Who believe in real movies this is a classiec to don't lost. Try to find this film, its realy hard to find. I had two times a copy and the same times people stole the movie from my cabinet.The movie its in B&W but in my personal opinion its better.Pure surrealism.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-12 of 12
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: