Bing Search

Disney's A Christmas Carol

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 35
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Bad
Posted: 2/16/2011A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by an unrecognized user
I really didnt like this movie much at all. They took a good story and destoyed it with bad animation. I know people today think 3D and stuff is great but I myself think that the old hand drawn animation is a work of art. What is the point of trying to make animation look real? If they wanted that they should have hired actors for the roles. It was scary and not a kids movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Way too long..
Posted: 11/19/2010A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by big-fat-greek
The novella "A Christmas Carol" is as relevant today as it was when it was written. This timely tale is called a novella for a reason. The story can be vetted and screened in one hour. All the lessons of morality and appropriate ethics can be applied by allowing the story to unfold as the author had intended. The 1951 version of A Christmas Carol was, despite the fillers, done very well. The 1951 version is my personal favorite it is 86 minutes in length and that, in my opinion was pushing the time limit of keeping the story relevant and holding the interest of children. Why in the world would Disney subject their audiences to 10-15 minutes of inane and unnecessary fillers? Is there a secret rule that ALL movies must be at least 90 minutes in length? As my daughter would say: "Can we go yet?”.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Good, But Scary
Posted: 1/3/2010A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by A Working Man
I thought A Christmas Carol was good. It was also scary. The scariest ghost was Jacob Marley's ghost. The ghost I liked the best was the ghost of Christmas Present. Please don't watch this movie if you are under 8 years old because it is too scary for kids that age.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  OK, BUT WHY THE 3D?
Posted: 12/25/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by NYBOB2000
The story is the story and this one was good, But it wasn't like throwing me off my seat. At times it was boring, Way Way too long. C'mon for god sakes. The 3d effect was minimal, In fact the best part of the 3d experience was the Coming attractions of AVATAR.. wait for this to hit DVD,, better stuff out there, Jim carry or not
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Too Much Ghosting
Posted: 12/23/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by Antiquehink
Well done movie, great special effects, enjoyed the 3-D, have always enjoyed the story BUT, this rendition had too much time spent on ghosting. Worth seeing at cheaper rates.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  a
Posted: 12/23/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by mhpd914
Movie of the year. If you didn't like this movie you don't like Christmas!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Good movie
Posted: 12/20/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by Macynsmommy0110
This movie would have been so much better in 3D...you can def. tell they created the movie for 3D but, unfortunately, they aren't showing that version anymore around here. Other than that, this movie was well thought out and put together. I agree, not meant for real small children but it was family-friendly.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  what-a-waste
Posted: 12/15/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by likyalot
couldn't wait for this movie to end. It was horrible. Fast flying around, stupid chase scenes I thought would never end. Don't waste your time or money. Felt sorry for the kids in the audience.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  not good
Posted: 12/13/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by sietsema2000
I have never been so disappointed in a Disney flim in my entire life. I just got back from the movie and i really don't think that it is for children. The movie was dark, what the people were saying you could not understand half of it, because the sounded like they had a mouth full of whatever. It was scary and believe me, i have seen about 15 different versions of A Christmas Carol, and not of the others were scary at all. I say thumbs down to this movie. And yes the animation was great and it seems that that is all they were worried about, they were not thinking about small children. Like someone said before, a waste of money, and boooo to Disney
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Just another disney ride
Posted: 11/27/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by Mr-mitch-o
This film was a waste of money. Disney has lost touch with its audience with this one. Animation, with the exception of Scrooge, was second rate. The ghost of Christmas past was silly with Carrys idiotic mugging and woooooooy ghostie voice. Young kids will be scared out of their whits by Marley. I am sure nightmares will follow. Disney needs to turn it up a notch.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Amazing!
Posted: 11/19/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by SweetFirefly930
This movie is amazing! The animation is incredible with wonderful attention to detail. Visually, it's a joy to watch. I think it's worth watching for that alone. The 3D was also very good. I suggest seeing it in 3D. I don't think this is a movie for small children. Younger children might find it scary. It's rather dark, and stays true to the story(there are a few deviations, but they enhance the 3D experience). If you don't like the story, you won't like this movie. Jim Carrey was perfect in the roles he played! He really brought out each character and made them unique. It's a heartwarming story that never gets old. It's comforting and cozy.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  EXCELLENT MOVIE!!
Posted: 11/17/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by SamiSue70
I'm disappointed with all of the negative reviews; this movie is brilliant! A Disney movie starring Jim Carrey doesn't mean it's going to be a comedic movie for children! If you love Dickens' A Christmas Carol, you MUST see this movie. If you don't, DON'T WATCH THIS MOVIE! This movie is NOT for young children, but it's an amazing rendition of the Dickens' classic.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Awesome Movie
Posted: 11/17/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by BDJ1731
I am a big fan of the Christmas Carol. Disney's version was true to the book with outrageously cool graphics and fantasy. Hats off to Disney with this masterpiece. I would see again for sure!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Gorgeously Animated, True to the Book
Posted: 11/16/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by poeticklish
This movie was beautifully animated, with careful attention to historical detail. Lovers of the original book will be impressed at how closely the film follows Dickens' story, right down to the jaw dropping off of Marley's face. (A few liberties were taken to fit some more action sequences in, mainly in chase scenes through the streets of 19th century London.) People who claim Dickens "would be rolling in his grave" have clearly never read Dickens. The book was not written for children, and niether was this movie (parents be forewarned - this is a ghost story and will likely frighten your kids), but it is beautiful nonetheless. It also features a beautiful score with some classic Christmas music. A refreshing change from the usual "How the Grinch Stole Christmas"-esque holiday films, but not one that the whole family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Disneys Yet Best ACC Film
Posted: 11/16/2009A review of Disney's A Christmas Carol by omarali85
Let it not be forgotten that the story of this film was based on a classic novel, and it seems, this time, Disney doesn't want to leave out all the details (such as the main character's nephew at the Christmas dinner). But, looking at this movie, this might be Disney's best version of "A CHRISTMAS CAROL", when compared to the Mickey Mouse or the Muppets version of the same film. (Although, to admit, the Muppet version of ACC was a bit funnier and more fun to kids.) Apart from the implemented CGI technology, which gave the film a thrilling, realistic look-and-feel, I found the main character weird-looking, but very entertaining, and a good blend of music in each scene. This film is not "wow" or amazing, but it's a temporary get-away for some during the holiday season, at least.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 35
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video