Bing Search

Buffalo Soldiers

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 13
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  So what?
Posted: 1/2/2004A review of Buffalo Soldiers by SomeLowLife65
Who the f*ck cares if people made a movie about soldiers who are dealing drugs and stealing army equipment and named it after very honorable soldiers.Actually I think its very funny. I thought the movie was good it had a unique story and was funny.Half of you gave the movie bad reviews because of the title and didnt even see it.So in conclusion who the f*ck cares about the title....You all Sicken Me...............
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  FYI
Posted: 8/4/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by Bean344
This movie is based on a 1994 book of the same title by Robert O'Connor. I cannot speak for the man or the real intentions of the title but I met him, read the book and can say that I was impressed. The movie is not playing in my area, but if it should come to a theater nearby I would certainly go see it. This says nothing of my lack of respect for the many brave African American soldiers for whom this term refers to. Quite the opposite, I have the utmost respect but when I look at the book/movie for some reason I separate the two as distict meanings. Maybe you should read and/or watch it, too.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Its just a title!!
Posted: 7/10/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by an unrecognized user
The people who are complaining about the title are over-reacting. How is it inappropriate? You haven’t even seen the movie. You have no idea how the Buffalo Soldiers are referred to in the film (maybe it actually IS respectful – gasp!). There have been several movies made about the real Buffalo Soldiers. Just because this particular film is NOT about the Buffalo Soldiers, how are they disrespecting them??? Were you all irate when Dead Man Walking came out, and you found out it wasn’t really about zombies???? You should all relax…. Idiots…
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 2 users found this helpful  A Title that is missguided & misleading.
Posted: 6/17/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by IGMP3
The term Buffalo Soldiers could have been used for a more deserving film. The Buffalo soldier was the name given to the 9th and 10th Cavarly and 24th &25th infantry indian fighting unit in 1866-1951. They should have picked a more appropriate title.I didn't even watch fifteen minutes of it!!!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  I don't like the Title
Posted: 6/6/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by an unrecognized user
I'm not to happy with the title of this movie the Buffalo Soldier ( Black American Soldiers) played a very important part in American History the story line indicates that these soldiers are crooked and will do anything to make a buck. The Buffalo Soliders died defending this country maybe if that had used a different title I would go see this movie. I can Say for sure that not to many Afro-Americans will go see this movie. (Straight to video)
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 2 users found this helpful  piss poor title
Posted: 6/6/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by kwanza32
I'm disheartened by the choice of title. Buffaloe Soldier is reference to the African american soldiers who fought in the Civil War. I think using a name like this for a movie about a currupt soldier tarnishes the term. I hope before the movie comes out that the name will be changed.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 3 users found this helpful  What crap
Posted: 6/11/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by Hogenmogen
The title of this movie is terrible. Why link the actions of those soldiers who waged war against peaceful Native Americans with those proud, brave soldiers guarding Western Europe from the great Red Menace? How can you disgrace our troops like that?Of course I'm kidding. The real Buffalo Soldiers were heroes blah blah blah. There may be some reason the movie was called Buffalo Soldier, which may be explained in the context of the movie, if anyone bothered to see it before writing a "review".
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 2 users found this helpful  come on already
Posted: 5/5/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by Susan2831
Honestly can you realy judge a movie by it's title? I think not, come on already we all know that a title of a movie doesn't fully capture what it's about and you can't state anything about it unless you've seen it. so stop being such sticks in the mud!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 2 users found this helpful  Absolutely Disgusted
Posted: 5/4/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by K_Nine110
First of all I would like to say ";What The F*#@!!! How could it be that in a time like this that Hollwood could even think about making a movie titled Buffalo Soldiers and pay no honor to the brave Soldiers that fought racism in the most extreme manner to defend a Country that refused to recognize them. Now, as to the confused few that say ";Lighten up"; I tell you what. Since there is no harm in the title and Hollywood has never been PC why don't we just call it ";The Crooked Cracker Soldier"; That seems to fit a little better.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 4 users found this helpful  Enter the title of your review.
Posted: 4/30/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by DancingInTheDesert
I would like to say ";thank you Dan Flynn"; (from an MSN review of Buffalo Soldiers written by Dan Flynn 3/21/2003 4:38:02 PM) ...So, thank you Dan Flynn for your review and your acknowledgement regarding the term ";Buffalo Soldiers";, the black American soldiers who fought for this country under that name, their stellar record in American history, and for pointing out how the Hollywood writers and producers of this evidently must be ignorant of those facts... (although I seriously doubt it!)Anyway... I've seen the trailer, and while the movie appears to hold some interest. I was put off by the title and plan not to see it... It has absolutey NOTHING to with the real ";Buffalo Soldiers";, and I choose not to dishonor the memory of those soldiers by seeing this movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 2 users found this helpful  Soldier! What Were You Thinking?
Posted: 3/26/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by YakiBa
At a time when soldiers, black and white, are dying to keep movie goers safe Hollywood should be ashamed to release a movie with a name like this and a subject so far from its meaning.I won't pay a dime to see it and will express my outrage to my friends in the hope that they to will see the slap in the face this movie represents to American soldiers past and present.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Hollywood Fallacies
Posted: 3/23/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by an unrecognized user
...and I agree with Both. When I heard about ";Buffalo Soldiers"; I thought it might've been some-what Biographical, but reading the Description of the movie...Well, to be blunt...What the #$@#?P.S: Its a shame to even give this '1 star'
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 6 users found this helpful  Buffalo Sodiers
Posted: 3/28/2003A review of Buffalo Soldiers by Foxkat21Forever
I am not about to write a typical review as I did not watch the trailer... However, I did read the summary of the movie.I am disappointed in the title of this movie and in reading the summary. How is it the term 'Buffalo Soldier' is going to be used to depict something as tasteless as drug dealing soldiers and make it a comedy.The producers and directors obviously gave no thought to people of color and their history. Buffalo Soldiers were actually people, black men, who were brought to the United States from Carribean countries to help fight a war.To take their efforts and turn the name given to them into something of a mediocre comedy... Which I am willing to bet it will be... is not worth it.I love film. However, I do feel that film directors and producers have a resonsiblity to society to set standards, not erase them and say..";We will leave it to the viewers to decide.";It is just as extreme as a man killing another and saying well...";I'll let the jury decide whether it's murder or not."; Strange analogy... yes.I just don't know how much longer society can allow the slaughtering of history be distorted for money.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-13 of 13
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video