Bing Search

Angels in America

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 10
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 1 users found this helpful  ok then
Posted: 5/14/2006A review of Angels in America by slurpie87
This movie certainly didnt make the whole gay thing more understandable to me. I thought it would help me understand these peoples point of view, but all it did was tell me that they steal AIDS drugs and abandon their partners when illness strikes. oh how honorable is that? seriously, it just felt like a waste of 6 hours time.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  This movie was REALLY awful
Posted: 1/7/2006A review of Angels in America by an unrecognized user
I remember reading this Play in college. My professor said it was one of the best plays ever written. SO not true! I hated this play so much! Personally, I thought the Starr Report was more entertaining to read. I watched the film version on DVD three years later. I hated it EVEN MORE!! It gave a bad name to Jews and Gays. It also poked fun at Mormons, Christians and people who loved Reagan. This film was so disgusting, I had to watch Faith Rewarded The Historic Season of the 2004 Boston Red Sox to get rid of the feeling. The bench -learing brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees was more entertaining than the film. The film also made me reassure that marriage is between a man a woman. Tony Kushner is a sick SOB. He is a Jewish Gay Socialist in real life. He is so gay he makes Liberace look like Schwarzenegger.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 9 users found this helpful  please...
Posted: 8/27/2004A review of Angels in America by aeg191
Can I give this NO STARS?!?!?!<br><br>Lately in Hollywood, it's too easy to put religion down and glorifiy the "poor" homosexuals. Why is it so trendy to poke fun at Mormons and Jews?? Please! For trying to make people empathize, this "movie" sure cuts others down along the way!<br><br>BLAH!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Angels???
Posted: 7/16/2004A review of Angels in America by an unrecognized user
The title is just a trick to get you to watch it. Trust me, there are no angels here. I supppose we are to believe that the people with aids are the "angels" but they're not. They're just sick. Let's not forget that they are plenty of people out there who are not gay but are still infected. "Angels in America" tends to sing the virtues of the gay individual (and wants to make you feel sorry for them) while taking potshots at the straight folks and doing a little bashing of Christians as well (if you think of Mormons as Christians) and God. The plot was nonsensical, but very well acted. We're all just fallible humans. Not angels. Here ended the lesson!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 7 users found this helpful  Angels in America
Posted: 12/30/2003A review of Angels in America by Been There2
Good acting by seasoned professionals, althtough I learned more than I wanted about the intimate lives of gays it gave me a better understanding as to the human condition. Loved the final scenes and the resiliency of the spirit.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 4 users found this helpful  I Didn't Really Get It
Posted: 12/31/2003A review of Angels in America by StepfordBonfire
I watched this hoping for a life altering experience, like HBO advertised it as. But what I saw was a muddled, confusing, talky, strange, boring, and even dull film. Everyone says that the plot is hard to explain, even the makers of the film. I tried hard to understand this, did i miss something? I'm not saying its a bad movie, the acting was great, but where is a story? I just don't get it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 16 users found this helpful  crap
Posted: 12/30/2003A review of Angels in America by KingRichard1986
what a load of crap.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 3 users found this helpful  A Masterful Creation
Posted: 12/30/2003A review of Angels in America by Diane1005
Some of the finest actors in the world do some of their very best work in this film. Al Pacino, as Roy Cohn, is at once repulsive and pitiful; his performance is riveting. Mary Louise Parker steals every scene she's in, and Meryl Streep proves--in four different roles--that she really is a force of nature. And Emma Thompson (who also plays the role of a doctor) is simply glorious as the pompous, language-challenged, charmingly befuddled angel, complete with storybook wings. There is not one weak performance in the entire film.<br><br>The mixing of fantasy and reality is so seamlessly produced that it is as if we, the audience, are experiencing the waking, dreaming, and hallucinating of the characters. And what characters they are--grappling with everything from AIDS to internalized homophobia to drug addiction to the problem of being a Mormon suddenly dropped into the middle of New York City.<br><br>There is a powerful political theme to Angels In America, and it might have appeared heavy-handed in a different type of film. But who can resist the electrifying magic of seeing Streep appear at Cohn's bedside as the smiling ghost of Ethel Rosenberg, or of hearing the fluttering of wings as Thompson twirls through the air, setting the room on fire and yelling "Text revision!" to the powers in Heaven? Not I.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
2 out of 6 users found this helpful  Angels in America
Posted: 12/30/2003A review of Angels in America by Sueblue0
Angels in America seems like a bit too much in one sitting. That is probably why it was written as three plays. The HBO movie version is fleshed out with some spectacular special effects, but this does not really add to the story lines. The movie uses its big names in several roles, and at times this detracts from the story line. One glaring example is the use of all the stars as the the angel tribunal in the "heaven" setting. My initial reaction was "Huh? Why is Emma Thompson, the nurse, in heaven?" It took me a couple of minutes to realize that she was playing a different character. I have to admit, I was totally floored to learn who was playing the rabbi from the funeral. Good job!<br>This film is worth seeing, if only for Al Pacino. The soliquy on what kind of man he is was worth the whole six hours!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
8 out of 19 users found this helpful  AWESOME
Posted: 12/29/2003A review of Angels in America by Xenigma9
HBO, you did it again. SO wonderful! It's a long movie, but you don't care, you just keep wanting more. SEE IT!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-10 of 10
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: