Bing Search

All Is Lost

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 9
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  All is lost is credibility
Posted: 3/5/2014A review of All Is Lost by Texas Tugdriver
Okay, I did it. I watched All is Lost. All I have to say is that Redford and the producers might have produced a more credible work had they bothered to read a boating safety manual. The final parting of the ways for me was watching our hapless hero screaming SOS on his marginal radio. Yes, I am a professional mariner. But what could have been a magnificent story was rendered untenable by the technical errors. I saw an interview given by the producers. Not outdoorsy types.... This could have been a magnificent film describing what is best in the human drive to survive. I will be polite and state that it is a sadly missed opportunity.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Could have been better
Posted: 1/28/2014A review of All Is Lost by Adliberated
I can understand the desperation and the motivation of having no spoken words in this film but i think it would have added to it to have either some small narration of a least a few thoughts or else just some short glimpses of via flashbacks as to who he was, who he was close to so we can feel more for the character. It just felt somewhat empty and although very good it was a tad boring and the last scene to me was a cop out..i guess it would indicate he was saved?? Who knows..or was that some diety taking him to the other side in some vision.. In total it was rather interesting bit dull and for one who cries at the drop of a hat i did not feel for this character that much other than to admire his inventiveness on the sea Good acting nothing spectacular .. I also couldn't stop thinking how im some respects Redford still has a youthful appearance by that hair, his physical body and yet his face must have gotten way too much sun as he looks so lined and haggard..but hey he is still one sexy man.. I'm glad i waited for pay per view rather than dish our $$$ for being at one of the artsy type theaters here.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Review
Posted: 11/25/2013A review of All Is Lost by Tim S31
This was an excellent movie. Great cinematography out on the ocean. I constantly felt as if I were the one, alone adrift, and lost at sea.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  107 minutes lost forever.
Posted: 11/23/2013A review of All Is Lost by godzla
I'm not sure what the title is referencing; if its the characters possessions, soul and hope, or if they are referring to Mr. Redford's acting career? . Please don't be fooled by the majority of reviews citing this to be Redford's" tour de force" or anything even remotely close. Make no mistake, this movie is nowhere on the same level as "castaway, Lie of Pi" and I am a fan of Mr. Redford's. At the Movies conclusion there was silence amongst scattered moans and a few glances between movie goers as if in total disbelief that this movie, (especially the ending) left them feeling as empty and desolate as their wallets. At times Redford mystifies with his characters resourcefulness and seamanship. At other times you wonder how this character even fumbles to the final scene without perishing much sooner. Artful? Maybe, entertaining NO. and yes, even at his age he looks good doing what any flunky drama student could've pulled off on this script. I will give it this much...if the movies intention was to provoke a sense of hopelessness or that "all is lost", then it was successful. I will never get back that 107 minutes of my life. Wait for video if you must see it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  One ActorNo Talking. Redford is AMAZING
Posted: 11/21/2013A review of All Is Lost by woofdaddy
This is way better than I thought it would be. Hard to describe but it totally captivated me and everyone else in the theater. To say this is a difficult thing to pull off for an actor is an understatement but RR does it with flying colors. Well worth the price of a ticket.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  All Is Lost
Posted: 11/19/2013A review of All Is Lost by Anne S.
I found the movie to be a total waste of time. Just plain boring!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  All is not lost!
Posted: 11/17/2013A review of All Is Lost by Janniekins
Robert Redford is still as handsomely beautiful as ever. Unfortunately this film could have been better if he was more verbal throughout. Sure the uniqueness of the movie is built around his silence, but true heart-pulling emotions of the audience become a bit disconnected as a result of Redford's lack of emotional display. He may have needed to cry a little, or even pray....as just about any human being would under such horrendous circumstances.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  A Character With No-Name Study At Sea
Posted: 11/15/2013A review of All Is Lost by Wolfpack1974
Watched this at a late showing and I was the only one in the room.Actaully made for a better viewing experience.The movie truly conveys the hopelessness of being adrift in the middle of the Indian Ocean with very little chance of being found.We never learn Redford's name in the film but we do learn what makes him tick and discover his will to live is quite strong over the 8 days.What we don't learn is how and why he's sailing alone in the ocean and who he left behind.This isn't a crowd-pleaser movie but its a tour de force for Redford and really reminded me of Jeremiah Johnson in the lack of diologue and the way he acted with the expressions on his face.Not sure this would work if it wasn't a beloved actor in the role.This would have been a perfect vehicle for the late Paul Newman about 10 years ago.A thumbs up from me overall but its a very sedate thriller that is ingested more than thrown at you.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1 out of 1 users found this helpful  best movie making ever
Posted: 10/27/2013A review of All Is Lost by MsP999
stunning cinematography, well-deserved praise for Redford's acting; and the story -- wow. Think "Old Man and the Sea" and "Life of Pi" only told and done with such verve and class and eloquence that you cannot really compare them -- only use them as a reference for starting. Cannot say much more without spoiling the WAY in which the story is told -- but it is so beautiful and yet terrifying and yet so elegant and eloquent -- I hope to see it again one the big screen, and I know that every time I get a chance to see it at home, I'll watch it.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-9 of 9
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: