Bing Search

Akeelah and the Bee

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 34
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  the best!!!
Posted: 7/26/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by idk280
This movie is such a great movie!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 4 users found this helpful  Marvelous!!!
Posted: 5/28/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by Ryan1231011
Akeelah and the bee is a wonderful movie.I could tell from the movie trailer I would love it. It actually deserves 6 stars and 3 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 5 users found this helpful  And the young shall lead them
Posted: 5/16/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by Jodysgirl
This was an excellent movie to show the entire adult community that children ARE TAUGH RACISM. I cant remember the last time I cheered and clapped in a theatre. The children in this movie revealed that the opinions of some of the adults did not influence who they wanted to have relationships with in spite of color. They in fact REPRESENTED DR. KINGS DREAM. They did not judge each other because of color, instead it was who was the best with their academic prowess. While I find it very hard to rate a movie by its trailer, and then deem it unsuitable for children (tfdl), again shows the close-minded attitude that can be taken by adults. Socio-, eco- and racial issues, while still are very real in our world, were all taken on in this movie and proved that these difference can be overtaken by a brilliant minds regardless of the package it comes in with the right guidance and support. Everybody, take your children, your whole family and let them witness that old, wrong, and ugly attitudes can try and kill a great spirit, but ultimately it is the true worth of the a person can truly triumph over any class OTHER PEOPLE try to put them in-including the color of their skin.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
16 out of 16 users found this helpful  Upliftng
Posted: 5/11/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by ShaZsa02
I found this movie to be very inspiring to all ages. While it told the story of a little girl with low self esteem, it could be applied to teenagers and adults alike. I believe that this movie told of how you should never be afraid of who you are and how smart you are because of societys opinion of you. It also showed that kids just want to be kids but sometimes us, as adults try to live our lives through our kids lives. Its very unfair to them. I loved the part in the movie where both missed the words in hope to help the other. It was at that scene that I couldnt hold back the tears. This is definitely a movie that I would see over and over A-G-A-I-N..... Seeing Angela and Laurence in the film made me think of Ike and Tina. KEKE PALMER IS A VERY TALENTED ACTRESS AND I HOPE TO SEE HER MORE ON THE BIG SCREEN)
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
10 out of 39 users found this helpful  Not Interested!
Posted: 5/9/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by SweetAcacia
I saw only the trailer for this film to determine that it would not be acceptable for my children to see. Racism in any form is intolerable. To hear the phrase uttered that she would be competing against rich, white kids was distasteful. When has it become acceptable to assume that white means rich, spoiled, prodded by parents, less worthy, or morally inferior? How would it be received if the statement were reversed? Shame on the writers and producers for stepping on the self-esteem of young people with less melanin in their skin in order to motivate or challenge another student. Im still waiting for the day that Dr. King spoke of when people would be judged by the content of their character and not the color of their skin...even the lighter tones.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
13 out of 13 users found this helpful  Akeelah-- meaning must see movie!
Posted: 5/9/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by jam3300
Akeelah and the Bee is without a doubt the best family movie in years. We took our eight year old son to see the movie and he was so excited afterwards that he spelled every word he could think of for days. We can not wait for the DVD and have not stopped talking about this movie since we saw it last Wednesday. It is so nice to see a clean, smart, exciting family movie that does not make you cringe or bore you to death. I laughed, cried, and sat at the edge of my seat the whole time. Not once did I feel like crawling away from the theater or have my son ask me if it was going to be over soon. The actors were great (Angela Bassett was so real and so good, Keke Palmer was a phenom along side Laurence Fishburne!!) The story was real and not fake ghetto or too bougouise, it was a great balance. It was nice to see how Akeelah dealt with being different and how she rose to the occasion. After the movie my son told me he knew what the movie was about... Its about having confidence in yourself. I am glad my child got something more out of a movie than fart jokes. F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
12 out of 12 users found this helpful  SPELLBOUNDING!!!
Posted: 5/8/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by Squirrelly1020
This is the BEST movie Ive ever seen!! It made me laugh, cry, applaud and want to cheer (outloud)! I didnt look at my watch a single time. Keke Palmer and Lawrence Fishburne were fabulous as actors and as role models. I thought there was good chemistry with all of the supporting actors as well. I was glad to see a movie featuring African American characters endorsing proper use of grammar and english instead of glamourizing the all too often used hood language. While some of the scenes might have been a little idealistic, it was nice to see a movie where everyone can come together in pursuit of a common goal. I was also glad to see a movie that had a real storyline and not just a bunch of animated fluff. It was enjoyable for both myself and my 10-year old daughter. Even she said she wanted to stand up and clap! I will definitely see this again AND buy it on DVD. Movie Mom said there was no profanity, but where I come from, a_ _ and s_ _ t are still profanity. Shame on you, Movie Mom Ill be getting my reviews elsewhere from now on. It is a shame that Hollywood feels it necessary to include profanity just to get a PG rating. Evenso, discounting the unnecessary profanity, this movie is a T-E-N!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
10 out of 10 users found this helpful  BEE-AUTIFUL MOVIE
Posted: 5/8/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by elainec810
SCREENED MOVIE 4-28-06 Honestly, my intentions were not to watch this movie- it wasnt my first pick out of some other choices. I assumed that it would not have anything enticing for adults- more of a kiddy movie. But my boyfirend and I,both in our early 30s, went to watch it and was pleasantly satisfied. Very inspiring and delightful family movie. I even found myself joing along and spelling some words out loud mostly the easier ones. LIFE LESSON - You leave knowing that what is instilled in a child negative and or positive never leaves him or her AND as adults, we too still can learn and grow.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Bee- sure to see this film
Posted: 5/8/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by an unrecognized user
Im ready to see it again! It was encouraging to see the film with an audience of people various backgrounds, ages and cultures. I loved the fact that the protagonists were from non European or Anglo cultures and in no way was race used as a plot device. (except in one instance when Dylans dad used Akeelahs age, experience and race to spur him on) They were simply people, interesting and complex, unpredictable and fairly realistic for a major motion picture storyline. Their stories came from their backgrounds and life situations and it was evident that there was an enourmous amount of pride, purpose and love in all of them. I loved that the ending was not a cookie cut Hollywood ending and it showed how much more can come from each finalist supporting and urging the other on...everybody won in the end. More can be achieved by working together. Dylan and Akeelah took the system and made it work for them, showcasing and celebrating their individual brilliance! What a beautifully directed and well written movie. Strong values, non-steroetypical characters, honest emotion and intelligent dialogues make Akeelah and the Bee and must see for everyone who loves a great story well told! Peace and Light to All!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 4 users found this helpful  Great Family Fun!
Posted: 5/6/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by WatchOutNow
The type of movie Id like to gather up all the neighborhood kids and take them to before school starts again in the Fall, just to get them inspired. I wasnt sure kids would be inspired by it until I noticed that there was this little kid sitting behind us who spelled some of the words along with Akeelah - something that would have ordinarily been annoying turn out to be a kind of cute addition to the movie-going experience! There are some moments when the movie reminds me of Boyz in the Hood but I attribute this to the films location and Fishburnes stirring ability to play roles that get all up inside a persons psyche, causing them to do something they might not normally do (Neo takes the red pill and goes into the Matrix). Once again he helps bring out the hero in the protagonist. Not a bad image for an actor to have not a bad image for kids to see on screen. I was a bit disappointed by the ending, but it certainly made the movie less predictable. Id encourage families with pre-teens and teens to go, and get pumped up about education. Its not a corny movie, despite so many positive role models yet its for all ages. I will be buying the DVD.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
5 out of 6 users found this helpful  A-K-E-E-L-A-H can Spell
Posted: 5/6/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by max45722
Keke Palmer, Laurence Fishburne, and Angela Bassett, star in Akeelah and the bee it tells the story of Akeelah Anderson an 11-year-old girl from South Los Angeles, and she shows a knack for spelling. Despite the objections from her mother, Tanya Akeelah is tutored for the upcoming spelling bee season by Dr. Larabee her principal, Mr. Welch and the residents of her neighborhood. Akeelahs aptitude earns her an opportunity to compete for a spot in the Scripps National Spelling Bee. Akeelah and the bee is almost a sequel to the Bee Season a 2005 film directed by Scot McGehee. It has almost the same plot about a young girl wanting to will a spelling bee. Akeelah and the bee is a more exciting and more fun to watch. Akeelah and the bee is not just about a spelling bee the movie takes place in southern Los Angeles were you can see the poor life style they have the schools are real crummy the can barely afford new books or half descent lockers and the town is full of crime. And then you have Akeelah Anderson who loves to spell and has the whole town routing for and that could give the town the boost it needs. Keke Palmer plays Akeelah Anderson the performance that she gave was great. She is a young actor and she has only been in one other film MADEAS FAMILY REUNION which I have never seen. I thought that Keke Palmer is a good actor. Akeelah and the bee is a perfect movie for the whole family everyone will like. It is not one of those movies were the parents a bored but there kids are loving the movie. Akeelah and the bee is a movie the whole family will love. Akeelah and the bee is fun, funny and a real winner. Akeelah and the bee has the right ingredients to make a great movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
4 out of 4 users found this helpful  Can you spell E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T
Posted: 5/6/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by JediPrince
WOW!! I took my nine year old son who is currently being home schooled to see the film and he absolutely LOVED it. He said he could strongly relate to Akeelahs role, especially how other kids teased her because she was different. One of my favorite lines in the movie was Can you put it in a song? The movie sends a very strong message that it takes a village to raise a child. Negatives Be warned there is the usage of some profanity in the movie which I believe was not necessary, but still believed the movie is a must see for all ages.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 3 users found this helpful  A MUST SEE!!!!
Posted: 5/5/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by KBCampbell1
My wife and I took my 9 year old daughter to see this movie and I was totally blown away. I honestly caught myself getting welled up and wiping away tears before anyone could see. This movie is an inspiration to all who have ever had self-doubt and insecurity. See this movie!!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
6 out of 6 users found this helpful  Akeelah touched my heart
Posted: 5/5/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by RatedMzNyna
I saw the movie the opening weekend with my 10 year old son. The movie was so real and really touched home with me. My son loved the movie so much that he wants to go see it again. He has even had me to go to the Scripp National Spelling Bee website to print off last years words so he can study them and know them. This is a movie that all parents should take their kids to see.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
3 out of 3 users found this helpful  Inspired
Posted: 5/5/2006A review of Akeelah and the Bee by michanecomthunder
I love it! Love it! I took seven children witn me to go see it !Ages raging from 2 to 10. My dauther being the 9yr old that reads at a 1st grade level.Who just watch it so intensly woundering how does she do it. I told her it could be you and smile kept watching the movie. The mother remind of my self always have to work at times she talking i always on the go go trying to get are life right. And the setting is near are home it is such a beautiful movie i love it! I love the co-star Javier with akeelah was so realistic. I woud like to start a spelling bee competion in my neighbor hood for the kids. I just want to say thanks for the wounderful delightful movie.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-15 of 34
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre:
upcoming movies on
featured video