Bing Search

A Serious Man

:

User Reviews

Average User Rating: Write a review
Reviews: 9
Date
Helpful
Rating
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Seriously Disappointing
Posted: 2/2/2010A review of A Serious Man by MNien
Seriously disappointing A Serious Man was one of the most disappointing films my wife and I have ever seen. It is a depressing movie from start to finish, with no redeeming charters. It seems as much of a profile of how miserable people can be to each other, in large and small ways, than anything else. It approaches everyone from the gun carrying white neighbor, to Koreans, and even the Jewish family it follows with shallow stereotypes. The one thing everyone in the story has in common, is that they are unpleasant. The religious wisdom the story hints at, from the very first scene, ends in empty nihilism. Some reviewers see genius in the storytelling. I will say that I will not forget this movie as I would also not forget dental surgery without anesthetic. Avoid this movie if you can, as you will likely walk out wondering why you wasted part of your life on something so hateful and potentially meaningless.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Another Classic
Posted: 2/2/2010A review of A Serious Man by david10605
The Coen Brothers do it again. They are so far out of the boring mind-dulling mainstream of movies these days as to nearly stand alone. A Serious Man contains a depth of experience and confronts the viewer with the place of humanity. I am not surprised most of the reviewers here don't get it. I wouldn't have either until I experienced a growing humility in life. I can't wait for their next offering. The ending will leave you awestruck. In a perfect world, it takes all the awards. If you hated it or don't agree send me an email, I'd love to discuss it with you.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Seriously Great
Posted: 12/20/2009A review of A Serious Man by RaeC3
I don't understand all of these bad reviews. This was probably one of my favorite Coen brothers films (along with "Fargo" and "O Brother Where Art Thou"). The dialogue was hilarious, and the acting was first rate. It was refreshing to watch a film that was free of big Hollywood names. Stage actor Michael Stuhulbarg was excellent as the lead character, Larry Gopnik. He'd better get an Oscar nod for his performance. The supporting cast was great as well, especially Sari Lennick (as Larry's wife), and Fred Melamed (Larry's nemesis Sy Abelman). If you were expecting something less "out there" or maybe a prettier cast, this was not your film. I think audiences should know by now that the Coens think outside of the box, and seeing their name in the opening credits should be considered a fair warning. Go see something else if you don't get the brilliance that is Joel and Ethan Coen.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  a serious man?
Posted: 12/17/2009A review of A Serious Man by joannahs
This is indeed the worst movie I have seen in years. Who are the critics who loved it? They are out of touch with reality, mainstream and intellectual ( I'm post grad) America. The powers who be need a new crop of critics, the ones in place are poor judges of what entertainment is. Don't waste your money or time on this movie. It doesn't even deserve the time it takes to write this review.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  A Serious Man
Posted: 11/23/2009A review of A Serious Man by Len257
A simple man ponders the meaning of life and what is truly important.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Worst movie ever!
Posted: 10/27/2009A review of A Serious Man by Boycott0
I wonder who paid off the critics? We walked out after 30 tortured minutes. Did they see the the same movie that the users saw? It really doesn't deserve one star. Luckily, the movie theatre manager agreed and gave us our money back!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Just Plain Awful
Posted: 10/25/2009A review of A Serious Man by OcersBoss
The worst movie by major talent I've ever seen. I like movies and have liked some of the Coens' movies a lot (Lebowski, Hud#$@#er Proxy, No Country), but this was jaw-droppingly bad. Stupid, nasty, ugly people besetting a nerd who hasn't the wit or spine to do anything but be a little surprised. If there was a point to this, it was too obscure for anyone to care about. If it aspires to be 21st century James Joyce, it didn't work. It starts slowly and cryptically, and you soon become apprehensive that it is taking an uncommonly long time to make any sense or be at least entertaining. You gradually realize you're watching something unique, something that is not going to be entertaining and may not make any sense. People in the theater stood and stared in outrage at the screen when it was over. Several said it was the worst movie they had ever seen. Only the Jefferson Airplane and Jimi Hendrix provided a few seconds of relief from what was otherwise insufferable. You'll want your money back!
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  A serious man
Posted: 10/25/2009A review of A Serious Man by a-real-movie-critic
One of the dumbest movies I have seen. It should make Jews totally angry because it made me angry for them. It was so boring I thought they should pay me to see it. Don't waste you money on this.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
0 out of 0 users found this helpful  Incredibly bad
Posted: 10/24/2009A review of A Serious Man by Aramis2100
The wife and I had a choice:Law Abiding Citizen(which critics disliked but users, not so much) or A Serious Man(which critics ADORED). We went with the critics.....HUGE MISTAKE. I never write reviews, but this one time I just had to. Unbelievably hideous.Boring boring boring.I honestly do not comprehend what the critics were seeing. I really don't. I've seen my share of bad movies, but none so much as would have me write a review.Some people may see the good side of this, and really get into deep rooted meanings, the dichotomy of this vs that,blah blah blah, but I can tell you honestly NOBODY at my showing did. "What a waste of money" was the main grumbles as we all filed out. And the ending?No Country for Old Men's ending was perplexing,maybe a bit frustrating, but at least the movie was good. This was bad from beginning to ridiculous ending.
Was this review helpful?
If you submit feedback on this review in the future, we will overwrite your previous feedback.
 Sign in
1-9 of 9
Per Page
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: