Bing Search

Movie News

J.K. Rowling
© AP / J.K. Rowling
J.K. Rowling outed as writer of acclaimed crime novel

LONDON (Reuters) - Harry Potter author J.K. Rowling secretly posed as a retired military policeman to write a crime novel that has been hailed as one of the best debut detective stories in years.

Rowling wrote "The Cuckoo's Calling" under the name Robert Galbraith and kept up the pretence that it was the work of a married father of two and former undercover investigator.

Her cover was blown when the Sunday Times newspaper became suspicious that such an assured piece of writing could have been created by a first-time novelist. An investigation uncovered that Rowling was the real author.

Bing: J.K. Rowling says goodbye to Harry Potter

"I had hoped to keep this secret a little longer because being Robert Galbraith has been such a liberating experience," the 47-year-old said. "It has been wonderful to publish without hype or expectation, and pure pleasure to get feedback under a different name."

Her publisher Little, Brown had promoted the book as a "classic crime novel in the tradition of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell". The protagonist, Cormoran Strike, is a troubled war veteran with physical and psychological wounds.

The plot follows Strike's investigation into the death of a model in Mayfair, an upmarket district of London.

Tell us on Facebook: Are you surprised that Rowling used an alias?

One reviewer described it as a "scintillating debut novel", while another called it "astonishingly mature".

The novel had sold around 1,500 copies in hardback. However, in the hours after Rowling was named as its author, it shot up the bestseller charts. It was listed as the third biggest seller on Amazon.co.uk on Sunday, having entered the top 100 only the day before.

The Sunday Times said Rowling has already written the second Cormoran Strike novel and it is due to be published next year.

After selling millions of Harry Potter books, Rowling released her first adult novel, "The Casual Vacancy", last year to mixed reviews.

27Comments
Jul 14, 2013 10:48AM
avatar
She is a writers writer. Her obvious beauty and appeal, are just extras. She is very talented and I hope she produces more.
Jul 14, 2013 11:34AM
avatar
On the MSN homepage it says "J.K. Rowling outed as male writer." What a deceptive headline.
Jul 14, 2013 10:18AM
avatar
New novels aside, J.K. Rowling is one sexy lady.  
Jul 14, 2013 11:14AM
avatar
Actually, the printer had a veritable ton of unpurchased copies laying around and needed to move them.  This is why she was unmasked.  Prior to the unmasking, 1500 copies had been sold.  After, a rocket-like rise up the lists.  It's kind of like wearing team apparel.  Association with a winner.  The author's identity does not change the fact of "so-so reviews".
Jul 14, 2013 12:20PM
avatar
Numerous other people have produced material under an alias. Hank Williams, Garth Brooks and countless writers. No big deal. Good for her for pulling it off as long as she did.
Report
Please help us to maintain a healthy and vibrant community by reporting any illegal or inappropriate behavior. If you believe a message violates theCode of Conductplease use this form to notify the moderators. They will investigate your report and take appropriate action. If necessary, they report all illegal activity to the proper authorities.
Categories
100 character limit
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: